Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2011, 08:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding new ductwork to a second floor.


Hello all,

I am looking for some feedback on whether my ductwork plans are feasible, and also a little guidance on some sizing of ductwork.

I currently live in an American Four Square house that only has forced air vents to the first floor, from the furnace in the basement. I have gravity vents between each room upstairs and the first floor. I'm sure this worked great when there was a coal fired furnace roasting the heat up throughout the house, but unfortunately with my natural gas furnace it doesn't

I would like to run an additional stack to my attic and then branch off it to each of the four rooms upstairs. I have been trying to research this online and at the library, but I can't get my hands on any definitive nubmers to tell me what sizes to use. I'll try to keep this neat and organized.

I need to run a stack from my main trunk line through two floors to my attic (approx 18ft) then I need to run vents through my attic to 4 rooms upstairs (two larger bedrooms, one small bedroom and a bathroom) My main questions are....

1. What size stack should I run to supply the vents? I would prefer to run it through an existing 2x4 wall, as there aren't any closets downstairs to hide a stack in.

2. What size duct should I run to each room and how many vents should I put in each room? The larger rooms are approx 12x12 each, the bathroom is 10x10, and the small room approx 12x8.

3. Finally from what I can tell I have a 3 ton furnace, can it handle adding the additional ductwork?

I understand HVAC can be touchy, but I can't afford to pay an expert to come in right now and upgrade my whole system. I am more than mechanically inclined enough to do the ductwork, I just need some guidance on sizing. Also any tips or feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!

vr4Legacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 05:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adding new ductwork to a second floor.


You're not going to get all that in a 2x4 wall. Lets say you want 200 cfm in the big bedrooms,100 in the bathroom and 100 in the small bedroom. That's going to take a 8x16,at least, trunk to feed those 6-6" supplies. Going to also put return in the bedrooms?

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 05:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding new ductwork to a second floor.


Thanks Marty,

As for the trunk, you say 200cfm to each big room and 100 cfm to the small would take 6, 6" lines. Should I run two 6" lines to each large bedroom? If I need to run a large trunk, I suppose I can figure a way to run one. I plan on tearing out the plaster in my dining room and putting up drywall, so it won't be much extra work, I was just hoping to hide it in the wall.


As for the return I plan on leaving the gravity vents in all the rooms in hopes that will allow the cold air to return to the first floor. Also each door has at least a 1" gap on the bottom to allow air to flow under. If I do run a return directly from the rooms, what size should it be?

Thanks again for the advice.
vr4Legacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 05:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adding new ductwork to a second floor.


The 1" gap under the door will do. I'd run 2-6" on the big bedrooms and place the registers where they "wash" any exterior walls and windows. You can always close them up some if it's too much air which is a whole lot easier then adding more.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 10:51 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding new ductwork to a second floor.


Thanks again for the info. I'll work on figuring out how best to run a trunk to the attic. I think I have a place figured out.

I may have some more questions as I get into the project. I'll post them if I have them. First project this weekend is to seal up the existing duct and insulate.
vr4Legacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Hardwood Floor Refinishing project roxksears General DIY Discussions 3 11-13-2009 05:43 PM
Adding Second Floor tdubs Building & Construction 4 11-04-2009 06:15 AM
Tearing off Roof and Adding a Second Floor tdubs Introductions 0 11-02-2009 11:25 PM
Adding a 1st Floor Laundry room Profane Plumbing 3 01-25-2008 01:19 PM
adding a second floor chubdo Building & Construction 11 04-16-2005 12:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.