Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2009, 05:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

adding heat ducts to existing plenum


I am remodeling an existing finished basement and want to add two heat ducts in the drop ceiling and am not sure how to add the new ducts to the plenum. Is there a special cutting device to cut out a perfect circle to add the duct?

milcurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 01:27 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

adding heat ducts to existing plenum


A simple way is to trace the pipe on the plenum with a marker then

drill a couple of holes in it then

use tin snips to follow the line.

Make sure to wear good gloves to protect your hands.

tagra123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 02:42 PM   #3
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

adding heat ducts to existing plenum


If you don't have any other branches, but how far are you running the ducts?

Will you have to use a lot of elbows to get from the plenum to "point b"?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 07:33 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

adding heat ducts to existing plenum


Where are you adding the return, so the furnace can get the extra air you want for those supplies.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 07:52 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

adding heat ducts to existing plenum


I was gettin' to that Been . Aint as quick as i used to be.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a room, tie in to existing framing rampeyboy Building & Construction 4 12-26-2008 03:16 PM
Adding Geothermal heat exchanger to window unit richinok HVAC 4 06-23-2008 06:59 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 07:23 PM
Adding radiant heat to existing slab Seabass HVAC 9 04-27-2007 04:10 PM
Installing Central Air using existing heat ducts lvlacic HVAC 2 06-25-2005 12:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.