Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2013, 10:14 PM   #1
*
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Posts: 250
Share |
Question

Adding gas to an all electric house AC unit


My home has ceiling radiant heat - currently my electric bill is $240 a month year round (northern indiana). I do have central air upstairs and down. I'm thinking of adding a furnace to the air handler system in the basement to lower my heating costs during the coldest months.

Eventually I'd like to add one upstairs too - probably when I replace the upstairs attic AC unit which is original to the house (1968). I'm doing this as much for resale as I am for cost savings - as the payback time would be immense.

What are the regulations for furnace chimneys these days? Can I get one that will emerge from my basement at an exterior wall without having to go all the way through the roof?

imautoparts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:04 AM   #2
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Default

Adding gas to an all electric house AC unit


Yes if you get a high efficiency furnace it is vented in PVC or polypropylene and can exit and terminate on the side of the house such as out of the rim joist. Granted you follow the manufacturers instructions and local code to terminating away from opens to the building such as windows and doors. For attics it is a bit more difficult to add a high efficiency furnace because some municipalities require measures to prevent the condensate from the furnace from freezing. Whether it be heat tape around the condensate line or insulation on it. I have even seen a unit heater to condition the attic when it got below freezing (waste of energy if you ask me). Depending on what your city says it may be cheaper to put an 80% furnace in the attic and vent the metal straight through the roof. However if you can put in a more efficient furnace I'd say go for it

HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rusted and almost gone drain pan, Package unit Nordyne kilosos2 HVAC 3 11-18-2012 09:24 AM
Central Ac Unit Keep Causing My Electric Braker To Kick Off pamelah1105 HVAC 1 06-18-2012 11:58 AM
splitting heat in multi unit house wfmrules3 General DIY Discussions 15 11-08-2011 06:45 AM
splitting heat in multi unit house wfmrules3 HVAC 0 11-07-2011 01:30 PM
strange electric problem in new house, hot ground! area123 Electrical 29 07-25-2010 11:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.