Adding To Existing HVAC - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2009, 10:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding to existing HVAC


First of all, I am a total newbie when it comes to HVAC so please bear with me

I am building a room in my basement and want to heat/cool it. I have a forced air system with central air and gas heat.

My trunk goes from larger ducting to smaller ducting...I guess that is normal?

The smaller ducting in the trunk is mostly in the room I am building. There is no space in the top of the trunk to tap into to run a vent into the room.

My question is, should I tap into the side or the bottom of the trunk? If so, where in the trunk should I tap into..beginning, middle, end? If I do tap into the side or bottom, how much airflow will that take away from all the other vents that are coming out the top?

Advertisement

daveyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 11:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 204
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Adding to existing HVAC


As the duct size decreases, the air velocity increases. Makes for more efficient air exchange

It doesn't matter where you tap in, your small room vents will have dampers, you'll just have to spend a few days to find a comfortable setting.

Advertisement

johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 09:21 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding to existing HVAC


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy View Post
As the duct size decreases, the air velocity increases. Makes for more efficient air exchange

It doesn't matter where you tap in, your small room vents will have dampers, you'll just have to spend a few days to find a comfortable setting.
So tapping in from the bottom or the side of the trunk shouldn't matter? What about decreasing the airflow to the existing vents?
daveyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 01:32 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,572
Rewards Points: 4,782
Default

Adding to existing HVAC


What ever air goes to your basement is what ever air any registers past that point won't get.

How well do the rooms past that point heat and cool.
If they over heat, and over cool, your fine.
If they under heat or under cool, you got a problem.

Not as much in cooling. Since basements don't take much to col them.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 02:12 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Adding to existing HVAC


A variable speed duct booster fan should give you some latitude in duct design, location, etc.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 05-15-2009 at 05:38 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowTo: Adding two exterior lights + switch, piggyback new switch off existing switch? ghost Electrical 14 04-19-2009 06:04 PM
Adding a room, tie in to existing framing rampeyboy Building & Construction 4 12-26-2008 04:16 PM
Adding a light to an existing 3-way connection nthomp16 Electrical 2 07-21-2008 07:57 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 08:23 PM
Adding large windows and a door to existing wall cpused Remodeling 7 02-23-2008 11:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts