Adding Central AC? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2009, 06:56 AM   #1
KGP
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding Central AC?


Last fall I remodeled my detached garage. Insulated the heck out of it and I installed a new Goodman 45KBTU (maybe it was 48?? dont remember) for heat. It is a 95% efficient unit that was set up for NG when purchased, but I converted it to run on propane. Heat has worked flawless and I did not install AC at the time figuring I will add it after the cold weather...

Question is... is AC just as easy to install for a DIY'er like myself? I will be stopping by the supply house this week to pick up what I need, but wanted to ask on here for any tips/tricks I need to know. All I "believe" I will need is an a-coil and a condenser, along with power, which I have plenty.
Someone (just a home owner, no a pro) said to me after saying I was going to install AC to the system.. "you are going to have to sweat copper"... ok... if that is going to be the biggest hurdle, then I should be good to go, unless there is something more to sweating copper lines then there is with standard water plumbing... Again, just wanted to check.

I am sure I will have to call someone to charge the system, correct? or can this be done myself as well?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Advertisement

KGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 07:10 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding Central AC?


Need special copper ACR.

Need ACR fittings.

Need special high pressure solder, regular solder can't handle HVAC pressure.

Need special tools, gauges, vacuum pump, meters, soldering equipment,
need to size equipment.

Need HVAC knowledge as to soldering practice, wiring, evacuating, charging, need to be certified to buy refrigerant.

Try to hook up with a buddy or friend that has HVAC knowledge or you will be wasting your time and money plus you can get killed or injured from high pressure.

Advertisement

SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 07:24 AM   #3
KGP
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding Central AC?


alright... dont want to get killed... So this is definitely something I should have someone do either for or with me?

I am right outside (15 minutes) from Philly over WW bridge if your interested in the job. Only guy I know who is in the field... I dont think I would trust
KGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 08:48 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding Central AC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by KGP View Post
alright... don't want to get killed... So this is definitely something I should have someone do either for or with me?

I am right outside (15 minutes) from Philly over WW bridge if your interested in the job. Only guy I know who is in the field... I don't think I would trust
Thank you but not interested just advice. I'm sure you will find someone you can trust to help.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 12:56 PM   #5
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adding Central AC?


Installing AC (IMOP) ...Isn't a DIY job
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 04:59 PM   #6
KGP
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding Central AC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
Installing AC (IMOP) ...Isn't a DIY job
Thanks guys... this is why I asked. I wasnt sure.
KGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:49 AM   #7
KGP
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding Central AC?


Just figured I would update. Did it with the help of a buddy who had some HVAC tools and has done it before. I was going to forget the project, but after the heat outside started rolling in... my garage was just unbearable...
The wife thinks I am nuts... I think I am nice and cool now.
Still have some finishing touches to finish the project, but she blows like a freezer now.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding Central AC?-acinside.jpg   Adding Central AC?-acout.jpg  
KGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 11:21 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Adding Central AC?


Your friend should have told you that your furnace installed the way it is, is a code vilolation.
Code requires all sources of ignition to be above the floor 18".

So the blower motor must be a min of 18" above the floor.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 02:09 PM   #9
KGP
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding Central AC?


thanks, to bad you are not my friend and could tell me something like this...
kinda like when you told me that installing radiant floor heat was impossible and that many people found it wont work the way I was attempting, then I read a textbook proving you wrong, and you said "oh, yeah... well it will work THAT way"... that was the help I came on this site to find out, not hear someone tell me I flat out couldnt do something. I believe the name of this site has DIY in the url... its not donteventrybeenthereknowsyoucantdoanythingyourself chatroom.com
KGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 07:53 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Adding Central AC?


Work, and work right are 2 different things.

And I can't help it if your friend doesn't know code.

DIY or not, it should be done right, not half A.

Code is code.

Last edited by beenthere; 05-25-2009 at 07:56 PM.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 08:03 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Adding Central AC?


And the method the book talks about.
Is not the way you installed your radiant heat either.
When you were asking about it.

Keep your facts straight.

Don't get angry cause your friend didn't know what the code is.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:40 PM   #12
KGP
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding Central AC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
And the method the book talks about.
Is not the way you installed your radiant heat either.
When you were asking about it.

Keep your facts straight.
Fact was exactly as stated.... I asked How to do something myself and you told me
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post

Lot of people have done that, and found out it doesnt work
After I posted how I found it CAN work (the answer I was hoping to get from any member of a DIY site) you stated
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yes, that method requires adding a circulator, and a few other controls.
By stating this AFTER I found my own answer and posted it as a reference to any other DIY'er in the future were to look around the site for information as I had, they would have found some info. Apparently you already "knew" this, yet, I guess, Held it back from me??? Why because I would have to purchase a few lousy components other than what I had sitting right at my feet...
That is the Fact that I am stating, please explain to me what facts I need to get straight?



Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post

Don't get angry cause your friend didn't know what the code is.
My one neighbor and a guy I work with are JackA's, I am not angry about it, I just dont care much for them.




Hey can you post a picture of how it "should" be installed, I just did a quick google search for images and came up with these. My instal looks no different, so all these are not code either? Out of curiosity, my home (i did not instal) my neighbors, and my inlaws are all installed just like mine and these other pics:







KGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:51 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Adding Central AC?


I told you it wouldn't work. Refering to the way you had it piped in.
Remember, you couldn't get water to flow through it right.
You were trying to make it work the way you had it piped.

And it stil hasn't been through a winter, to see if you have it right yet.


Look at the first pic. See how its on blocks.
If those blocks, are enough to raise the furnace that the bottom of the blower motor is 18" above the floor. That will pass code.

Thats all thats needed. Is to have the bottom of the blower motor 18" above the floor.

Just because your neighbors or anybody elses isn't installed right.
Doesn't mean its ok to install another one improperly.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 11:39 PM   #14
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Adding Central AC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by KGP View Post
Just figured I would update. Did it with the help of a buddy who had some HVAC tools and has done it before. I was going to forget the project, but after the heat outside started rolling in... my garage was just unbearable...
The wife thinks I am nuts... I think I am nice and cool now.
Still have some finishing touches to finish the project, but she blows like a freezer now.
Which part? the ac or your boy friend?
Try using the right size pad, and center it if you have the cognitive ability to do so.. Seal up the the wall penetrations and and add fasteners to the the line set.

Go to to ground with the condensate line for the ac.

Do not plumb furnace drain to the condensate pump because it will freeze
during winter. Also the acidic condensate would drain on to your ac as is, not to mention the wind blowing the acidic condensate into somebodies eyes.

SEC entering disconnect on side is a hazard as water can leech thru threads and create a shock hazard.

Your furnace duct work is all wrong. You have no return on the furnace, just a filter against the RA opening on the furnace.

Put a cover over the line set; it looks like the wall is passing a long, malignant
stool.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 05-25-2009 at 11:55 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 07:55 AM   #15
KGP
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding Central AC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Which part? the ac or your boy friend?
Good one Bevis, uuuggghhhhhuhu huhu

Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Try using the right size pad, and center it if you have the cognitive ability to do so.. Seal up the the wall penetrations and and add fasteners to the the line set.

Go to to ground with the condensate line for the ac.

Do not plumb furnace drain to the condensate pump because it will freeze
during winter. Also the acidic condensate would drain on to your ac as is, not to mention the wind blowing the acidic condensate into somebodies eyes.

SEC entering disconnect on side is a hazard as water can leech thru threads and create a shock hazard.

Your furnace duct work is all wrong. You have no return on the furnace, just a filter against the RA opening on the furnace.

Put a cover over the line set; it looks like the wall is passing a long, malignant
stool.
These would be some of this finishing touches to finish the project I previously mentioned that I have yet to do. But thank you for pointing them out.

Drain in the winter was sent to a glass carboy (for brewing beer) kept inside to prevent it from freezing. I know it is not the right way to do it, but with the current situation I am/was in when installing it was a good option. The AC drain to the outside is not yet finished and will be moved away from where it sits in pic and returned to the ground. Until then, I will post signs that safety glasses must be worn in this area just for anyone who randomly walks to this remote part of the property during a windstorm.

The one thing I am unsure of is the return ducting. It is in a single story 21x16 garage. For heat all winter, it worked like a champ with the return the way it is. So far, the AC has worked great this way as well. I have plans for ducting in the building it will be going into latter as it will have a 2nd story.
Just for the record, this is in a single story detached garage that will hopefully be demolished before winter. I am planning to start on my (much larger) garage in the coming weeks and level the current one. Current Garage sits in the now middle of the property as the land behind it was not mine when it was built, so besides being way to small for me, it sits in a very awkward place.

Advertisement

KGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding more weight to truss system... what can it hold? Sonnie Building & Construction 7 02-06-2009 09:45 PM
Adding new duct/Register CEbury HVAC 1 06-25-2008 11:51 AM
Adding Central Air rondo HVAC 1 05-27-2007 10:03 AM
Installing Central Air using existing heat ducts lvlacic HVAC 2 06-25-2005 01:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts