Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2013, 12:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding to AC Thermostat


Had central air added this summer and want to connect my heat to the new thermostat that located on the second floor. Pic 1 is the new thermo with AC attached. Pic 2 is the old thermo for heat. Seems straight forward but can someone to confirm the wiring to the new thermo? From the old thermo: white wire goes to the W connector and red wire goes R on the new thermo?

Also, when running new wire to the new thermo for the heater, what wire should I use? 18/5 or 18/7?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Adding to AC Thermostat-wygorcrbc.jpg   Adding to AC Thermostat-imag0065.jpg   Adding to AC Thermostat-imag0064.jpg  

tomo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:47 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,282
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Adding to AC Thermostat


You would be correct. Just move the W & R to W on the other thermostat, remove the jumper on the new thermostat between RC & RH and connect R from the old one to RH on the new one.

As for wire, standard 18-20ga Doorbell wire, which you can find in rolls from 10-100 feet in the same aisle for thermostats, ductwork, heaters in your local big box store, or in the electrical aisle.

As for that last pic, looks like that is your doorbell transformer. Really would have nothing to do with your hvac gear, unless you know that transformer runs to the furnace or boiler the heating thermostat is connected to.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 08:02 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding to AC Thermostat


Thanks for the reply.

The reason I ask about the 18/5 or 18/7 wire is that the system is old and will need to be replaced in the next few years. Do the new systems require 5 or 7 wires or will 2 wire suffice? I want to run the correct wire the first time and not have to rerun it again when we install a updated furnace. Thanks
tomo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 11:32 AM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,282
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Adding to AC Thermostat


It does not matter how old the system. What matters is how many connections. Just purchase a 4 pair roll (8 wires inside the jacket), and you will be fine. If you plan on updating to say a heat pump, or 2 or 3 variable speed furnace, and 2 speed a/c or heat pump, then yes account for that number of connections, and purchase enough wire for that.

Usually you would have to pull two runs on anything over twelve connections, due to the wire will get thicker with more wires in the jacket @ 18 ga.

I just used Cat-5e for connecting our thermostat to the furnace. It is 20ga, and let me have enough pairs for it. It was what I had laying around when I got the 3m-50 Thermostat I bought at that time.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a thermostat in the basement Frank0132 HVAC 9 09-28-2012 03:20 PM
Thermostat issue, need help JonMio HVAC 2 02-11-2012 07:35 AM
Thermostat issue, need help JonMio Electrical 1 02-10-2012 03:40 PM
Thermostat for electric baseboard wiring help needed vae_victis HVAC 10 01-05-2012 10:53 AM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.