Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2009, 03:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Add Duct to Main Trunk


I am finishing my basement and I need to add HVAC to two of my rooms. Can I just simply run flex from the top of the main trunk line going up to the new rooms? The two new lines would consist of one flex duct with one register. I already have two seperate lines coming off of the main trunk to go upstairs. My townhome is 2 stories plus a basement. I just want to make sure I don't screw up the HVAC for the rest of the house.

naturalmystic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 04:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Add Duct to Main Trunk


Yes you can . Add a return to the rooms also if possible.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 07:48 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,107
Rewards Points: 110
Default

Add Duct to Main Trunk


It won't heat right, but you can do it.

Basements that get their heat from the same duct system as the rest of the house, have a common flaw. Hot air rises, and cold air falls. Along with the fact that the thermostat is usually on the first floor. So it doesn't know that the basement is Cold.

Might want to put in an electric heater or 2, besides the 2 new runs.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 02:25 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Add Duct to Main Trunk


Thanks for the help guys
naturalmystic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how many trunk line and feeder lines Grandma Lewis HVAC 4 03-08-2009 06:07 PM
duct trunk diy site unixb0y HVAC 4 03-02-2009 05:37 AM
where to position the main trunk? drewhart HVAC 3 02-12-2009 02:16 PM
Furnace install in attic - Duct configuration hartkem HVAC 6 11-08-2008 05:46 PM
Condensation in Wall: Can I Seal a Dryer Duct With Caulk? xquercus HVAC 5 07-01-2007 02:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.