Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2006, 09:19 PM   #1
b2v
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

add an additional register to a supply line


i recently built an 3 season porch off of a family members mobile home. i would like to tie into the existing hvac system to heat and cool the room. if i understand hvac at at all (good chance i don't) i should tie directly into the main duct going down the center of the house. however to make my life much easier, can i simply add a T-connection to an existing supply duct at the point of an existing register, run the duct 12 more feet and add an additional register on that line. and do this on two separate supply lines?

would i noticeably loose air flow (if any) on the existing supply line?

thanks for any help.

b2v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 06:55 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

add an additional register to a supply line


Quote:
Originally Posted by b2v
i recently built an 3 season porch off of a family members mobile home. i would like to tie into the existing hvac system to heat and cool the room. if i understand hvac at at all (good chance i don't) i should tie directly into the main duct going down the center of the house. however to make my life much easier, can i simply add a T-connection to an existing supply duct at the point of an existing register, run the duct 12 more feet and add an additional register on that line. and do this on two separate supply lines?

would i noticeably loose air flow (if any) on the existing supply line?

thanks for any help.
yes, you will lose air flow
unless this supply duct is larger than the rest, it would be best to run a new duct from the trunk line

ETA: the above is a general rule of thumb
if your porch places the registers a lot further from the trunk line than the rest, you may even have to run another trunk line, duct fans...?

I would suggest you make a drawing, take it to your local hardware stoe, find the "helpful hardware man" (all hardware stores have them, with few exceptions), show him your drawing and ask his opinion

be sure to include average distance for existing ductwork, and distance to add-on registers

I have seen new double-wide mobile homes that needed duct fans just to use the original ducts - one side got good airflow, the other got almost none - it's all in the design


Last edited by delstu; 06-20-2006 at 07:48 PM.
delstu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bathroom sink supply line height bluebee1314 Plumbing 2 03-28-2007 05:47 AM
Adding a new water line to dishwasher and fridge? PMichaud Plumbing 18 01-05-2007 07:00 PM
how to run fridge water line under kitchen floor? travishume Plumbing 23 09-26-2006 07:51 AM
Relocating water supply line from well Mikedks Plumbing 6 09-22-2006 01:41 PM
hot pilot light supply line dlkk HVAC 1 02-24-2006 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.