Adapt Plenum - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2009, 08:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adapt plenum


I am replacing an old oil furnace with a new high efficiency natural gas furnace. The plenum on the oil furnace is 19"x20" and the outlet on the new furnace is only 16"x14". Can I adapt the larger plenum to fit the new furnace and will this be an issue.

Also any ideas on how to adapt the sheet metal plenum would also be helpful.

Advertisement

mdm75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 10:56 PM   #2
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 260
Rewards Points: 250
Default

adapt plenum


Yes, you can do this if the plenum is larger than the funace (but not the other way around). The furnace manufacturer may make a transition adapter for the furnace but I suspect you'll need a custome fabricated transition to match up the dimensions exactly.

Advertisement

sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Return air plenum for new furnace? Chemist1961 HVAC 1 12-25-2008 11:20 AM
Attaching plenum to furnace. hartkem HVAC 6 11-10-2008 03:17 PM
Removing Extended Plenum Calm_Blue_Ocean HVAC 15 01-07-2008 06:22 PM
Plenum - Where to buy? zootjeff HVAC 1 07-11-2007 09:21 PM
Plenum Design winkydink HVAC 1 11-22-2006 11:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts