Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2008, 04:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Access panel


I have a comfortmaker furnace. How do I get the burner area access panel off? It has a small viewing window in what I believe is the panel, but removing the sheet metal screws won't get me there.
Chuckl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 06:28 PM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Access panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckl View Post
I have a comfortmaker furnace. How do I get the burner area access panel off? It has a small viewing window in what I believe is the panel, but removing the sheet metal screws won't get me there.

Why do you want to pull the cover off?

Is this a 90% furnace?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 10:09 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Access panel


Burner won't stay on and I want to check the flame sensor. It re-cycles ok to the point where the burners ignite, then goes out. I think it's a 90
Chuckl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 10:18 AM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Access panel


0%0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckl View Post
Burner won't stay on and I want to check the flame sensor. It re-cycles ok to the point where the burners ignite, then goes out. I think it's a 90

OK I can help. I know the brand and still rep it. Tell me how old it is.

Comfortmaker made an 80% and a 90% with an enclosed burner.

The 90 vented out the side wall with PVC pipe. The 80 vented with metal pipe into a chimney.

Now that that's out of the way tell me how it's acting so we can be sure we are going in the right direction.

I know you Say burners won't say on but there are other ting that cause the same symptoms.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 10-19-2008 at 10:23 AM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 10:33 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Access panel


Thanks for your time....It vents out the top into a chimney...must be an 80?

Don't know how old it is. I've been here 5 years and it wasn't new when we moved in.

It's cooled off here and we tried to get the chill out of the house the other day. We turned the thermostat from cooling to heat, turned it up about 10 degrees and waited. Nothing happened so I checked the furnace for a pilot lite (shows how old I am), but it has an electronic ignitor. There is a blower that comes on in the gas valve area and stays on. I turned the thermostat down, shut off the gas supply and turned off the power to the furnace to recycle it, and waited about 5 min. Turned gas on, thermostat up and power on, and that's when the burner tried to ignite for a few seconds and went back out.
Chuckl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 10:43 AM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Access panel


Ok, turn furnace off by the light switch on the side.

Set thermostat as high as it goes.

Look into the burner window and turn on power.

The inducer should come on and after a while you should be able to see
a red glow in the burner.

Note if burners light, describe how they look before they go out.

Burners should be mosly blue with very littel yellow or orange.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 12:17 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Access panel


I did what you said. The induction motor came on, and after about 10-20 sec. the ignitor glowed orange followed by the burners coming on. They stayed on this time and had a blue uniform flame and after 10 sec or so the furnace blower came on. Hoping against hope that it may have returned to normal, I let it blow for several minutes and turned the temp down to kick it off. One lunch break later I tried it again . Induction motor on, orange glow on for a sec, then burners on for 4 sec....orange glow off, burners off. It recycled 2 more times with similar results.......HELP
Chuckl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 12:35 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Access panel


I am here to save the day

You already have the screws. What;s holding it tight is the rubber gasket.

Grab the right side with the finger tips of both hands and pull out.

Don'T be afraid to coax it with a putty knife or flat head screw. The heat of the burners makes the gasket sticky but it will come off. It's a good fit that makes it a little hard to remove also.

Let me know when you get the cover off.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 12:45 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Access panel


In your opinion, would you be thinking flame sensor?
Chuckl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 12:53 PM   #10
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Access panel


That or a combustion disc.

Clean the sensor first if that does not do it then we dig a little deeper.

BTW, do you have a meter that measures micro amps DC?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 02:19 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Access panel


I got the panel off after some arguing with it, but from where the sensor is located and the igniter is hooked in, I've decided my old bones no longer bend that way, so...........time to call a pro. Thanks for your help.
Chuckl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 02:28 PM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Access panel


Don't be a wuss! You got it 3/4 licked.

I ain't no spring chicken neither.

Holding that sensor is a phillips head screw. Get you a long snank no2 and un -screw the sensor and clean it with an SOS pad.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 01:11 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Access panel


Thanks again for the help. The *pro* got here this morning and fixed it. The flame sensor was ok, the ignitor checked ok, but...the control module needed replaced. He said that furnace is 20 years old and eventually will shoot craps, but for now I guess I'll keep pushing it. Thanks again.
Chuckl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access Panel or Door for Shower Plumbing Any pics? twilightcall Plumbing 4 12-22-2009 05:53 AM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Apartment - Access to Panel Box? silver26 Electrical 3 08-07-2008 09:56 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.