Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2012, 11:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Is access to back of furnace ever needed?


Hi,

I bought a house about a year ago which has a somewhat finished basement. Right now there is the potential of accessing the back of the furnace by removing some in wall shelves, and a piece of plywood behind them. I'm thinking of removing the shelves, framing the opening, and dry walling over the opening.

Do I need to keep access to the back of the furnace for any reason or is it ok to seal it in?

ghostee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 11:51 PM   #2
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,793
Default

Is access to back of furnace ever needed?


As long as theres roughly 6" of clearance between it and wall and your evap coil for your a/c doesnt stick out that way i wouldnt worry about it

__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 12:47 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Is access to back of furnace ever needed?


Is that the way to get it in or out of the space? If it ever needs to be replaced, you'll want adequate access to get it out & a new one in.
hdpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 06:13 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,139
Default

Is access to back of furnace ever needed?


Most manufacturers build furnaces with 1" or 0" clearance in the back.

You shouldn't have to get back there for anything, I would check the model number of the furnace and look up the clearances for your specified furnace.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 08:10 AM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,793
Default

Is access to back of furnace ever needed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by COLDIRON View Post
Most manufacturers build furnaces with 1" or 0" clearance in the back.

You shouldn't have to get back there for anything, I would check the model number of the furnace and look up the clearances for your specified furnace.
If you ever need to get to the back of plenum to take the furnace out depending on how it was installed those extra 5" might be nice to have
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 09:13 AM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,576
Default

Is access to back of furnace ever needed?


if you have AC with an A coil on top of that furnace the back is an access to cleaning it..standing in front of the furnace looking at the sheet metal box on top draw an A on it that is the position of the coil within..so the back would be to get in and clean it...
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 10:32 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,139
Default

Is access to back of furnace ever needed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
if you have AC with an A coil on top of that furnace the back is an access to cleaning it..standing in front of the furnace looking at the sheet metal box on top draw an A on it that is the position of the coil within..so the back would be to get in and clean it...
"Been putting A coils in for 40 years never had to gain access to the rear, always through the front plate".

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Rheem 80% Furnace Short Cycling rlukas79 HVAC 0 12-19-2010 03:27 AM
Furnace Help Needed Jobethjen General DIY Discussions 2 12-18-2010 11:13 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.