Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2010, 08:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC wiring Problem


Hello,

i just moved into a house and the hvac wiring was torn apart I got most back to where i believe it goes. but I don't know where to hook up the red and white wire that come from the compressor. I am posting some pics to help.

i am not sure of the make or model all i have is this model # NUGG075DF02
But with some searching it turned no results. I am pretty family with electronic circuits and schematics but i could not find one. Any help is appreciated.











SLEDGEHAMMER84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:47 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC wiring Problem


also i belive the unit was installed in 94 from a sticker on the outside of the furnace

SLEDGEHAMMER84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:20 PM   #3
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

AC wiring Problem


compressor? are you sure you do not mean blower motor. Your pic are of a standard gen purpose relay!
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:23 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC wiring Problem


I am referring to the wire that comes inside from the coil and compressor unit outside the house. Those red and white wires arent pictured because they are disconnected.
SLEDGEHAMMER84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:28 PM   #5
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

AC wiring Problem


low voltage control wires from outdoor unit go to Y-C on indoor terminal block for a/c only applications.
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:32 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC wiring Problem


does it matter which to where?
SLEDGEHAMMER84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:33 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC wiring Problem


you said a/c only applications. It also has a furnace. does that matter?
SLEDGEHAMMER84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:35 PM   #8
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

AC wiring Problem


Yes i meant with a furnace and a/c. color does not matter one wire on C one on Y
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:39 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC wiring Problem


Thanks I will try and post my results. Hopefully everything else is in the correct place
SLEDGEHAMMER84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:50 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC wiring Problem


Ok unit is turning on outside but now the blower motor turns off when it turns on. I had it wired this way yesterday and left it running hoping the blower would turn on but it never did and the line froze. any ideas?
SLEDGEHAMMER84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 11:02 PM   #11
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

AC wiring Problem


sounds like you using the wrong contacts at the gen purpose n/c instead of n/o better take a closer look at the wiring diagram
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 11:34 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC wiring Problem


Ok, I found a HEIL badge that fell off the furnace. (if that helps) N/C? N/O? sorry I do not know what you are referring to. I am tracing the diagram now.
SLEDGEHAMMER84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:13 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC wiring Problem


After examining the schematic, studying the relay part; I moved the
black wire from pin#4 -> #1
violet wire from pin#5 -> #3
I am still unsure about the proper location of the black in the lower right and the white in the lower left.
The blower motor now remains on with the outside unit. but did not turn on untill i activated the fan manually on the thermostat. could this be due to a faulty thermostat? it is displaying the correct temperature.

SLEDGEHAMMER84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, furnace, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Wiring problem datoda Electrical 6 12-28-2009 07:43 PM
Problem with Air Handler wiring connection to Outdoor Unit & Thermostat miamikk HVAC 0 09-29-2009 07:02 PM
Switched receptacle wiring problem. sheshore Electrical 6 09-27-2009 01:37 PM
Outdoor AC on whenever heat is on - wiring problem? SammyLi HVAC 3 10-12-2008 12:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.