Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-17-2013, 08:19 AM   #1

Share |

AC vs Heat difference in travel?

All,

I have been running into a bit of heating issues to which a couple of the contractors that I have brought out stated that I the equipment was fun and that I needed to rerun my vents in the attic.

My split on my AC is about 2-4 degrees in the different rooms minus the airflow. My split on my Heat is much larger in difference being about 30 degrees.

I am not an HVAC expert but, does Hot vs Cold air travel that different down my longer runs that it could cause a 30 degree differential?

Thanks,
randy

tathamr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:32 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by tathamr View Post
All,

I have been running into a bit of heating issues to which a couple of the contractors that I have brought out stated that I the equipment was fun and that I needed to rerun my vents in the attic.

My split on my AC is about 2-4 degrees in the different rooms minus the airflow. My split on my Heat is much larger in difference being about 30 degrees.

I am not an HVAC expert but, does Hot vs Cold air travel that different down my longer runs that it could cause a 30 degree differential?

Thanks,
randy
Not totally sure I get what you're saying, but if you're saying the temp difference from your return grill to a supply vent in A/C is only 2-4 degrees that isn't normal. And while cold air is heavier and requires more force to push it shouldn't make that big of a difference.

Do you by chance have an electric furnace?

JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:40 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by JScotty View Post