Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2014, 08:05 AM   #31
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,408
Share |
Default

AC stops cooling well at days end???


No. It all depends on literally how much air/heat is flowing across the evap coil. Ducts sizing, fan speed etc will change the evap temp/freon pressure. Also the return temp in the house. Very rare that people go below 70 F as that is uncomfortable for most people in my experience. The higher the return the higher the coil and supply temp. Also whether the unit is over or undersized.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
digitalplumber (06-24-2014)
Old 06-24-2014, 08:08 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,078
Default

AC stops cooling well at days end???


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
No. It all depends on literally how much air/heat is flowing across the evap coil. Ducts sizing, fan speed etc will change the evap temp/freon pressure. Also the return temp in the house. Very rare that people go below 70 F as that is uncomfortable for most people in my experience. The higher the return the higher the coil and supply temp. Also whether the unit is over or undersized.
Thanks I was asking to clarify did not want anyone reading this to expect those numbers on their systems. Did not seem normal to me.

Thanks
__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 08:11 AM   #33
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,408
Default

AC stops cooling well at days end???


Part of the issue is exactly where you stick the thermometer. Need to be a foot or more away from the coil and where it is reading air movement. Just like reading temp with a furnace you don't want to be close to the heat exchanger.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
digitalplumber (06-24-2014)
Old 06-24-2014, 12:45 PM   #34
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,110
Default

AC stops cooling well at days end???


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
2 tons for 821 sq ft? Now that is oversized unless Illinois is close to Texas in climate. 18,000 would be better. However with that ECM blower which can slow down a lot and a 2 ton unit you can be comfy and make it work and make ice cubes.
Basement added into that, makes it 1642.

It is actually very comfy as it is. I tried knocking it down a notch, from where it is set for the fan speed. It actually made things worse.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 02:34 PM   #35
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,408
Default

AC stops cooling well at days end???


We don't AC our basements or add it to the load unless it is a walkout or half basement with large glass. Plus we insulate the heck out of the basement walls.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 02:44 PM   #36
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,110
Default

AC stops cooling well at days end???


We do not do that here, unless you plan on finishing the basement. Otherwise it is just bare concrete walls. Even if I finished it. I would still be fine with the setup.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deck Power Washed...now many days of rain before stain! mark2741 Painting 67 09-27-2013 06:32 PM
brand new AC unit not cooling house yodiebear HVAC 4 10-09-2011 11:41 AM
Kenmore fridge stops cooling with frost in freezer donnoit Appliances 3 09-20-2010 07:59 AM
Wiring a Ruud RGTK-06E series furnace for 2-ton cooling bolo_invictus HVAC 3 01-25-2010 03:24 PM
Installation of Honeywell Thermostat - cooling function KDW Electrical 0 10-04-2009 09:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.