AC Stopped Working After Condenser Was Moved - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-24-2012, 07:39 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
AC Stopped working after condenser was moved

Hello,

I am an electrician, and am familliar with motor control, but I was hoping to get a little help troubleshooting what I think will be routine for someone familiar with HVAC.

My friend had an addition put on his trailer and the contractor moved the condensing unit, it has not worked since.

I do NOT know if he disconnected the control circuit to move it, but I have the suspicion that he may have miss-wired it if he did.

When I press the relay in manually the unit starts up with no problems, so the High voltage is correct and the unit does not appear to have a mechanical problem.

I took a picture of the thermistat side wiring (this unit is dedicated to AC, there is a seperate stat for the furnace)

Here is the wiring on the unit side. The Red / White / Blue / wires enter from the bottom left:

The Red wire takes one side of the 24v to the thermostat.
The Blue wire goes to what I think is a timer unit (solid state) below.
The White wire connects to the green that goes to the 'contacor?' above. (I am thinking this is an intermittent relay between the low voltage and the high voltage relay . . .? )

Here is what I could make out of the Schematic on the cover (sorry, it was pretty worn)

Here is the Model #

The only doccumentation I was able to come up with was a manual (with no electrical schematic )
I will include a link: here

I measured 24v from the secondary of the transformer, but I cannot remember the voltage I read between the red and other 2 conductors ( I want to say ~24v but I can't quite remember) [it's not 0v]

I can get these readings when I go back, but I was hoping to have a few tips to try when I make the trip.