Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2011, 03:02 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

AC starting to freeze?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Evap coil is freezing due to low refrigerant or poor air flow. You need to check for leakage of refrigerant.

The drain line should be clogged.
even when it hasn't been running it can still freeze?

drain line from the coil's pan is clean, flushed it out and nothing but clear water came out at the rate I poured it through

BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:40 PM   #32
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,072
Rewards Points: 40
Default

AC starting to freeze?


If you have an 80% furnace, it could have come down from the chimney/flue.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:42 PM   #33
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AC starting to freeze?


No, have you check if the condenser ( outside unit ) is running when you turn off at thermostat?
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:48 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AC starting to freeze?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If you have an 80% furnace, it could have come down from the chimney/flue.
92.5% AFEU, pipes run horizonal to the outside

unit outside has been off also never ran in the past week
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 02:14 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AC starting to freeze?


ok..... this is just getting ridicilous... so while tracking down where the water came from, turned out they ran a 1/4" copper flex line through the extended plenum and it appears to of froze and burst enough to drip water right down the center of the A coil fast enough to get into the furnace....

who in their right mind runs a 1/4" copper flex line through a plenum... they must of fed an old humidifier from this line somehow because they just had it capped off

*rips out hair*
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 05:09 PM   #36
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,072
Rewards Points: 40
Default

AC starting to freeze?


Old days, they would do that to help preheat the water before it went into the humidifier.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:16 AM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AC starting to freeze?


yeah, now I am mad... guy came out to do the work, pushed all the refrig back into the outside unit, purged the lines, changed the orfice, pulled a vaccum on the line for hours (he wasn't there for that time) came back, finished up, must not of tested the darn thing (i wasn't home at the time to watch) because when I tried it out within 1 minute the darn line was froze again in the same spot after the orfice, and the A coil was iceing up within 15 minutes of running...... uuuuuuuuuugh

to top it off, I got charged $75 an hour for the 4 hours they wern't there but the vac was running on the line.... I seriously doubt it cost $300 to run a vac...

anyways, what in the world could be left as the problem?...
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:29 AM   #38
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AC starting to freeze?


If A-coil has an obstruction inside this problem will happen. Call the technician again. He will be able to verify this by checking the pressures.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:37 AM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: everett washington
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AC starting to freeze?


i think you need to get a pro out to fix. may be over charged noe. i dont know why someone would add 1.5lb of refer. the system should never!!! loose refer. either you have a leak or he added refer when you did not need it.
www.cascadehvac.com
cascadehvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:42 AM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AC starting to freeze?


Quote:
Originally Posted by cascadehvac View Post
i think you need to get a pro out to fix. may be over charged noe. i dont know why someone would add 1.5lb of refer. the system should never!!! loose refer. either you have a leak or he added refer when you did not need it.
www.cascadehvac.com
these people are supose to be "pro's"...

system wasn't serviced since it was put in years ago... I think the system takes a 5lb charge? forget exactly, I thought 1.5lb was a lot but they looked at me like I was the dumb one when I said that's a good bit low...
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:54 AM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: everett washington
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AC starting to freeze?


i blockage in the line makes sense. if for example the indoor txv is blocked, the pressures would read like it was low...he would then add refer trying to get the pressures to go up. also liquid lines will freeze at the blockage.
cascadehvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:57 AM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AC starting to freeze?


Quote:
Originally Posted by cascadehvac View Post
i blockage in the line makes sense. if for example the indoor txv is blocked, the pressures would read like it was low...he would then add refer trying to get the pressures to go up. also liquid lines will freeze at the blockage.
that's why they originally wanted to replace the orfice since it was freezing right at it... they thought it was blocked there... its now replaced and same issue, freezing right at the same exact spot
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 09:05 AM   #43
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AC starting to freeze?


Quote:
Originally Posted by cascadehvac View Post
i blockage in the line makes sense. if for example the indoor txv is blocked, the pressures would read like it was low...he would then add refer trying to get the pressures to go up. also liquid lines will freeze at the blockage.
Significant temperature drop on line sets indicates restriction. Easy to test. I guess A-coil has something inside.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 09:11 AM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Rewards Points: 0
Default

AC starting to freeze?


well calling them back out and telling them they didn't fix it... see what happens....
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 02:43 PM   #45
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,072
Rewards Points: 40
Default

AC starting to freeze?


Is there a liquid line filter drier inside the outdoor unit, or one on the line just outside the outdoor unit, or one at the air handler/evap coil?

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to build a single phase induction motor sashman Electrical 3 03-31-2011 07:18 AM
Balcony Drain Freeze sueann Roofing/Siding 2 10-28-2010 08:58 PM
Timecutter 16:42z trouble starting and now stopped starting jackdoldno7 Landscaping & Lawn Care 0 09-10-2010 11:43 AM
Freeze protection in utility room? akguy HVAC 1 11-20-2009 05:30 AM
Heil Gas Furnace has trouble starting sometimes dmanmtl HVAC 3 01-23-2009 05:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.