Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-03-2010, 06:41 AM   #1

Share |

AC problems

AC isn't cooling off house. the Carrier unit on the exterior of house is making lots of noise. from somewhere, there is a very loud hummm, almost like a helicopter is flying over head.

AC problems-dscf2803.jpg

there doesn't seem to be any water dripping from discharge coming from a unit in the exterior of the house.

i'm a novice at this and want to learn by fixing this myself. I ask your help

rosco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 07:00 AM   #2
fabrk8r

AC problems

First check your furnace or air handler air filter, then check the cleanliness of the evaporator (indoor) coil. If those are both clean you probably need to have your A/C serviced (check for leaks) and then recharged.

The ice on the suction line is an indication that either not enough air is flowing through the indoor coil or the unit is low on refrigerant, which tells me that there is a leak somewhere.

It may be something else, such as bad TXV, but the first things to check are what I mentioned.

rosco (06-03-2010)
Old 06-03-2010, 07:09 AM   #3

AC problems

i haven't figured out where the indoor coil is found (as we are having the back porch poured today!!!). but i turned the AC off and have been running the circulating fan for about twenty minutes. water is pouring out the discharge. i'll assume one of the guy's who will pour the concrete this morning will know where to find the indoor coil and i'll start there.
Old 06-03-2010, 07:40 AM   #4

AC problems

after another twenty minutes, "Wifey" woke up and shut the interior circulating fan off. it sounded as if a lot of ice chunks fell down through the Weathermaker 8000 unit. and cold water was dripping down onto the very dirty air filter (bottom of unit)

AC problems-dscf2811.jpg

AC problems-dscf2812.jpg