AC Problem - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2012, 06:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC problem


So this is what I have. The relay does work and switches when I turn the ac on. This relay in the pic is outside on the condenser unit.

The fan wonít turn on nor can I hear a pump (donít know if I should be able to)

The red and black wire at the bottom of the relay on pic right are each 120v lines. 2 Pole

The smaller blue and brown lead is the relay 24 volts its ok

The 2 yellow leads on top of that are 120v
the black next to them are 120v

everything coming off the relay is 120v

The shiny cap

All the leads off the cap are 120v
a set of brown and a yellow and black go to the pump
a set of brown and yellow and black go to the fan.

They wonít turn on but everything is showing 120v and good.

This system does not get used much at all and has not since last summer. Any ideas?
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

robkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 200
Default

AC problem


check for 220volts on black and red wires to the contactor. thats power in from disconnect. do not check each wire to ground because you can have only 1 side of the 220 volts and it will read 110volts on both legs from a feedback. when contactor is pulled in check for 220 volts leaving contactor.
you might have 1 fuse bad at disconnect. capacitor doesnt look puffed up
from the photo.

Advertisement

hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC problem


Ok what contactor do i need to hold my testing leads to?
robkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 200
Default

AC problem


you called it a relay. the part to the right of the pic. the 2 wires on the bottom
is the power going to it. the 2 wires one on each side is the 24volt control
circiut. this will tell you if you have the 220volts coming in.
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 200
Default

AC problem


FYI- contactors are normally open switches. relays can be normally open or closed
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac instructor For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (06-24-2012)
Old 06-24-2012, 07:12 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC problem


ok i will check. Should i get 240 from the cap at anyplace? the cap is a ge 97f9895 370v
robkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:17 PM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

AC problem


check across the incoming red and black wires. More than likely you have lost one leg of power. Check for fuses inside the disconnect. Stop checking line to ground. Doing so will not allow you to properly test for voltage.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 200
Default

AC problem


the yellow wire from contactor is the 110v going to the cap. that doest go thruthe contacts. the cap only gets 110 volts and increases it to the comp and fan for extra voltage.
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:25 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC problem


This sounds dumb and i am sure it is. how do i test it for 240? i place my volt metter on ac volts and take the red wire placed it on the incoming termanal red and the black on the black incoming terminal. I get zero i am sorry i feel dumb how do i test for 240?
robkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:29 PM   #10
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

AC problem


You did it correctly and this shows that you are missing 1 leg of power. Check for fuses in the disconnect. One is probably open. Test them for continuity.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:36 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 200
Default

AC problem


you did good. it doesnt matter which meter lead goes on what wire.
if zero then follow wires to the disconnect and check same way on both side of the fuses. voltage might be off in the house
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:41 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC problem


I got it! it was one of the poles was not working. Thanks so much for the help!

Advertisement

robkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 TVs fried: Electrical vs. Comcast Coax Cable Problem LynOprinka Electrical 17 07-16-2012 09:01 PM
Very Strange Shower Drain Problem MattWhite Plumbing 12 05-21-2011 12:53 PM
Don't understand this breaker tripping problem majesticjess Electrical 10 03-05-2010 07:42 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts