Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2009, 08:58 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

AC power stops at fuse box


Hello All,

My home was built in 1989. I am sure the air conditioner is original to it. This summer the outside unit (fan not spinning) stop working. I tested the wiring inside the house and got a positive read. I tested the wire outside and the portion that leads from the inside of the house has a reading for electrical current, but past the fuse box that portion is not receiving power. I tried replacing the fuse since that seems to be the problem, but that did not help. Any other suggestions I can try?

Campbeco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 11:01 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Default

AC power stops at fuse box


Were the fuses new or laying around in the box???????????

Possible corrosion at the knife blades, or pull out.

I'm stumped also.

SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 05:44 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

AC power stops at fuse box


with the fuses in if you read the top 208V and it has power then the lower portion of the fuse going into the condenser doesn't the fuses are blown
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ac unit, air conditioner, air conditioning, condenser, fuse


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 06:15 PM
Fuse OK! No power to outlets... henry199 Electrical 9 12-25-2008 08:10 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
100 Amp Fuse - issue - HELP! Leenders Electrical 9 06-02-2008 04:06 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.