AC Not Cooling Sufficiently In 600 Sqft Apartment - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-06-2012, 06:39 PM   #1
rmb

Rewards Points: 10

AC not cooling sufficiently in 600 sqft apartment

Hey!

So I'm a total noob when it comes to this stuff but I need a little advice (or a stern talking to).

I moved into a 1 bedroom (600sqft) apartment in Austin at the beginning of July.

When I moved in one of the first things I did was replace the old mercury thermostat with a programmable digital one.

During the first week of July, my apartment wasn't cooling right. It was so hot and humid. I called my maintenance guy who said that my system had no freon, so he replaced it and instantly, my apartment was cool!

Fast forward to the last week of July. My apartment is warm again (not as warm as before but still warm).

Yesterday, the thermostat read 77 (after having been on for 4 continuous hours, starting at a temperature of 80/81) and the air coming out of the vent closest to the compressor read 65. I set the temperature to 70 to see if it would ever hit it and it only hit 72 after dark and the temperature outside was 76 or so.

My landlord told me that the difference between the inside temp (77) and the air vent temp (65) was normal and that he didn't want to have to pay for someone to come out and check the unit out. He also said that maybe the freon needed to be replaced -- even though freon was put in a month ago.

Also, his other maintenance guy said that there was water in the compressor (by the fan) and there was water leaking from one of the valves attached to the compressor. Also, insulation around the really cold pipe that goes to the house and the compressor was gone.

My question (finally) is: Does anyone have any idea what's actually wrong with my AC? Or if I'm just being super paranoid that something's wrong?

Please help!