Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 01:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


replace the transformer,fan control board,capacitor,and contactor on condensing unit, once the fuse is replaced the unit will work for a couple of hours and then will blow the fuse again

dlastra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 01:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


Which fuse ? where is that fuse located ?

clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 01:56 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


the fuse is the 5 amp fuse located on the control board on the air handler this board is for the fan
dlastra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:44 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


You need to provide more data. AC unit is ...... Window unit, Central air, hitachi ventless?
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:49 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


this is acentral,240 voltsunit , carrier 2 ton r 22 about 11 years old
dlastra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:50 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


carrier 2 ton central air split system 11 years old
dlastra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 03:21 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


Do you have any schematics, I, right now am fighting my own AC issues, my condenser unit has no pcbs, no fuses, and no transformers. I need to know at least model, mfg, to check online.
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 03:29 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


Fellow Houstonian? Welcome.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 03:55 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


Hey Doc,
I'm a TX transplant. Love TX, never leaving.
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 04:22 PM   #10
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


Lived here my entire life. What side of town are you in?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:16 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


Pinehurst
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:34 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


Doc,
My post is 4m205j, what do you think?
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:46 PM   #13
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


remove the stat off the subbase...disconnect the 24V wires out to the condenser at the condenser power up the air handler again with new 5A and then jump first R to G does it blow? then R over to Y does it blow?
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:01 PM   #14
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


Quote:
Originally Posted by jb64 View Post
Pinehurst
That's way up north by Magnolia and Tomball, right? I used to work the Atascosita, Kingwood, Woodlands and surrounding areas last year. Company was in Spring.

Nice area up north but not being Houston City limits I've found a lot of code violations in homes out there. Not trying to scare you, just so you're aware. Get yourself a drain pan condensate float safety switch for your inside unit. It's required in the city but most homes out there don't have them. It'll protect your ceiling or floor from water damage and let you know when your a/c has a drain restriction. Down here you're drain will be flowing full time with the amount of humidity in the air.

They only cost maybe $20 and are very easy to install.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:10 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse


Doc, sounds like good advice, don't have to worry about the drip pan until I can run the ac, please check my post.
Thanks,

jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rhem Heat Pump low voltage fuse keeps blowing z4racer HVAC 3 02-29-2012 08:02 PM
New Bryant Gas Furnace - Fuse Keeps Blowing DIYerIT HVAC 2 01-08-2012 05:22 PM
Outdoor Christmas Lights Fuse Keeps Blowing mhp8982 Electrical 6 11-18-2011 11:10 PM
Trane XR90 keeps blowing fuse McTreez HVAC 1 11-01-2010 05:56 AM
Blowing fuse kenneth floyd General DIY Discussions 4 08-04-2009 01:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.