Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2009, 04:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

AC Freon line is not as cold as it should be


I have a 10 year old Goodman GMP series.
m/n: CK49-1b
s/n: 9606033390
I am not sure how to look up the tonnage of the unit.

The bigger copper line with the insulation running out the compressor does not seem to be as cold as it is suppose to be.
My neighbors is almost ice cold and mine is no where near that.
Needless to say the air that blows out my vents inside just have a hint of cool air therefore my ac stays on almost all day.

I had the freon refilled 3 months ago and they said the pressure looked good. "I am guessing they meant no leaks"

Any ideas what else I could possibly check?


r/
Brad

bigmac71201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 05:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Rewards Points: 250
Default

AC Freon line is not as cold as it should be


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmac71201 View Post
I had the freon refilled 3 months ago and they said the pressure looked good. "I am guessing they meant no leaks"

Any ideas what else I could possibly check?


Brad
If your system "required" refrigerant 3 months ago then it has a leak. The only scenario for adding refrigerant is that it wasn't charged correctly when installed, has been misdiagnosed or really has a leak.

If refrigerant ever "needs" to be added to an older system then leak testing needs to be carried out. This time hire a differant company to look at the unit.

hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 05:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Freon line is not as cold as it should be


Thanks for the quick reply...

How would you properly check for a freon leak?


r/
Brad
bigmac71201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 05:49 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Rewards Points: 250
Default

AC Freon line is not as cold as it should be


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmac71201 View Post
Thanks for the quick reply...

How would you properly check for a freon leak?


r/
Brad
Connect gauges to the service ports and compare pressures/temperatures against the manufacturers specifications. That will tell you if charge is low.

To find a leak will require an electronic sniffer and/or soap bubbles. Sometimes you can look for oil residue and that often indicates a leak is close by. It could be as simple as caps missing from the schrader valve ports.

It could also be neighbor kids huffing refrigerant from your system to get high.
hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Water in Cold Water Lines ??? Superbuuck Plumbing 14 08-29-2011 01:21 PM
Help with low pressure cold water upstairs lewissv Plumbing 5 01-26-2007 09:05 AM
Frozen cold line, not hot... Unregistered Plumbing 1 06-08-2006 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.