Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2012, 11:59 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 157
Share |
Default

AC Filter Question


I noticed that my filter is getting a little dirty (and its been only 1.5 months) and if I bump it slightly it starts to whistle. This I understand indicates that I probably have too thick of a filter media installed. The problem is that I do have pretty bad allergies and it does make a huge difference.

I understand that the 5in thick filters are more effective because they have more surface area so you can use a thicker media without as much airflow reduction.

Do those 5in filters fit there 1in filters would go? Do they have a "lip" of some kind that would hold it in place? There it plenty of space where the filter is, I just need to make sure it would stay in place.

Otherwise I"ll just bump the quality of filter down and live in a cooler house with slightly more allergies.

knotquiteawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 08:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 202
Default

AC Filter Question


no. the 5 inch filter has its own frame. you have to install it on the furnace at the return then install your return duct to it.

hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 08:21 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 157
Default

AC Filter Question


I thought I would go ahead and post this in case somebody else searches for the same question I had.

I found my own answer after asking around with some AC guys:
The honeywell FC40R1011 type filters or their generic equivalents have a lip so that they can fit the 5in filter where a 1in used to be
Like this:



I plan to order some from here after we get back from vacation (don't want it sitting on the front porch for a week. Its kind of expensive but considering it should last a year I think its worth it. Not sure if this would be the best price for a two pack but it was just the first place that was mentioned to me.
http://www.filter-outlet.com/product...product=174727
knotquiteawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:51 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 157
Default

AC Filter Question


Just a quick update for anyone looking to do the same thing.

The 5in filters with the 1in lip on them came in today. I installed it and noticed an IMMEDIATE increase in airflow from the vents. It was almost as if there was no filter there. The pleating makes such a big difference in increasing the surface area for the air to flow.

I highly recommend doing this if you feel like your current filter is slowing the intake of air too much and you don't want to increase the size of your return.
knotquiteawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help deciding where to put filter... pancakes Plumbing 1 08-20-2010 08:04 PM
Reducing ESP in Cold Air Drop & Filter artbuc HVAC 13 07-26-2010 11:22 AM
Install undersink filter or whole house!? Mike2181 Plumbing 7 07-19-2010 10:14 PM
filter question ROLAND1955 HVAC 1 11-22-2008 04:44 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.