Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2009, 01:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

AC condensing unit failure?


My 5 ton split system compressor stopped working apparantly due to overheating.(fan unit running but compressor stopped) Cooled compressor down and restarted. compressor runs but indicates same pressure on both high and low side (150psi? friend with gage) Unit is over 15 years old so looking at replacement of just condensing unit but also wondering about inside unit, coil etc. Freon level is fine. Seems to me that pressure differential is controlled by coil unit in house
Can new condensing unit be installed to old blower unit since amount of changes to systems over last 15 years? what are options there?
Don't want to throw good money at an old system but also line of thinking is that new condensing system now would work with new fan unit installed at later date. If money were no object would replace entire unit or remodel whole house, or...but money tree has been looking scraggly lately.
Also unit is 3 phase, does this help with energy efficiency? (older neigborhood with 3 phase power)
thanks for any help.

Hotinsummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 01:50 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

AC condensing unit failure?


With the system being 15 yrs old you might money ahead replacing the whole system. However, if you replace the condenser you will have to replace the coil inside and you need to look at the option of converting to R-410a freon.

Check with your local city because the only thing in your house is more than likely the A/C. Most cities will want to disconnect the 3-phase. Converting from 3-phase to single phase 240 v is not a big deal.

Are you 100% that the compresor is running? If you can check amp draw.

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 01:52 PM   #3
Ice Man
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Default

AC condensing unit failure?


sounds to me with 150psig on both high and low side, that your compressor may not be operating. what is your amp draw across the 3 phases?? what is your RLA of the compressor?
Ice Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 02:08 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 2
Default

AC condensing unit failure?


the RLA for the compressor is listed at 20.7.
the actual amperage draw across all 3 ph. is 7amps.
The compressor is running ie making noise.

this is the only AC running on 3 ph. One other condensing unit was replaced with a single phase and one other package unit is single phase.
Hotinsummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 05:13 AM
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 10:11 AM
$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?! JMK HVAC 23 05-06-2012 10:45 AM
New Condensing Unit to Match Existing Air Handler? sweaty HVAC 5 03-04-2009 12:37 PM
central unit will not come on ....please help guyasc HVAC 5 08-24-2008 05:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.