Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2009, 04:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

AC Condenser source of ignition?


I'm planning on putting my ac condenser about 5' away from the exhaust vent for the 90% + gas furnace because of limited space. I was told the it should be no less than 10' because the condenser is a source of ignition. I understand that there is a source of ignition at the condenser because of the contacts but what is it going to ignite? The fumes coming out of the exhaust of the furnace? Let's say for the sake of argument that the fumes coming out of the furnace exhaust is that combustible why would the AC condenser be running at the same time. Can you run the AC and the heat at the same time?
Thanks

hrjrkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 06:18 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northeast Pa.
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Condenser source of ignition?


In my area the 10' rule of ignition applies to a propane tank and the condenser being the source of ignition. There should be no problem putting the unit 5' away from the vent. The only thing you may find is: If the condensing unit is down wind from the vent, You may see some premature oxidization of the aluminum fins of the coil in the area of exhaust contact( the exhaust is still acidic ).

sdsheatcool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 07:44 PM   #3
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

AC Condenser source of ignition?


To my knowledge there is nothing in the code that restricts you from doing what you want to do. The only distance from the exhaust is made to window and dorrs.

I had to place an exhaust 3' over and 2' to the side of a condenser and passed inspection.

Also, a condenser for a heat pump will run were as if yours is just a/c then your condenser shouldn't run for heat.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:29 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,632
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

AC Condenser source of ignition?


The concern is not that the furnace and A/C will be running at the same time.

The concern is that if the gas valve fails. And leaks through. It could cause gas to come out of the flue or intake pipe, and the condenser then igniting the raw gas.

However, I don't recall there being a 10' requirement for it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 11:33 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

AC Condenser source of ignition?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
However, I don't recall there being a 10' requirement for it.
Me either.

But the manufacturers' installation literature may dictate that supposed requirement.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This may help someone with carrier ignition problems AweMan HVAC 15 02-09-2009 01:20 PM
furnace ignition troubleshooting buju HVAC 22 01-14-2009 10:41 PM
Condenser Fan Quits After approx 10 min kdogg HVAC 5 08-06-2008 06:03 PM
Condenser fan motor/compressor kristeng HVAC 3 07-26-2008 11:02 AM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.