Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2012, 08:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start


My 5 Ton AC condenser worked well last year but it is not working this year.

Both compressor and condenser fan are not running. The situation is below:
1. There is a AC power 110V between 2 hot lines on the contactor input terminals before turning on the AC. But this power is gone after turning on AC (24 V on). So both motors can't start.
2. When turning off the AC (24 V off), the 110 V is back.

What's wrong with this problem? Somewhere short? Relay bad?

Are all wires connected correct (see attached picture and diagram)?

Brand: Bryant
Product: 561CJX060000AAAA
Model: 561CJ060-A
Serial: 2300E23243
(see attached model plate)

Please advise, thanks.

Rick
Attached Thumbnails
AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start-2012-04-23_connection.jpg   AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start-diagram.jpg   AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start-model-plate.jpg  

rliu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 09:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start


you require 230 vac at the line side of the contactor...

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to carmon For This Useful Post:
plummen (05-01-2012)
Old 04-30-2012, 10:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start


I know the compressor is running at 230V. But each line in is 115V from the power circuit. How can get 230 between 2 input lines?
rliu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:14 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start


You need to check across one leg to the other, from one terminal to the other at the contactor, and see if you have 240-ish volts. If not, you've got an electrical problem such as a bad breaker.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
plummen (05-01-2012)
Old 04-30-2012, 10:22 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start


230V with meter on both in coming line wires to the top of the contactor...and 24Vs on the 2 blue wire nuts.witht he condenser disconnect off that contactor should pull in from a call for cooling from the stat....don't check the incoming 230 to ground check between legs each 115V to ground
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
plummen (05-01-2012)
Old 04-30-2012, 10:28 PM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start


Also, do you have an electrical disconnect at the unit, with fuse perhaps? Check across the poles there as well.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 11:18 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start


So you mean between 2 black lines to the input of contactor should be 220vac, but I measured it is 110vac only. I'll check it on the circuit beaker. But I wonder why this 110vac gone when turning 24v switch on? Will this problem go away when the 220vac is normal? Thanks.
rliu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 01:54 AM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start


Quote:
Originally Posted by rliu View Post
So you mean between 2 black lines to the input of contactor should be 220vac, but I measured it is 110vac only. I'll check it on the circuit beaker. But I wonder why this 110vac gone when turning 24v switch on? Will this problem go away when the 220vac is normal? Thanks.
it should as far as the condenser being able to run but outside of the voltage problem who can tell..?

You're missing one leg of 120v.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 06:58 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start


I found one input line burned in the circuit beaker box but don't know why.
Question:
Is my compressor still good as the follow measurement?
CR = 0.4 ohm (blk-yel)
CS = 1.9 ohm (blk-blu)
SR = 2.2 ohm (blu-yel)
I have known SR=CR+CS, from this formula, compressor should be fine but I wonder why the resistance is so small between 3 terminals.
Please advise: Is the compressor good (not short)? It is 5 ton compressor.

Last edited by rliu; 05-01-2012 at 09:53 PM.
rliu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:36 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

AC Condenser (compressor and fan) can't start


it will be fine... try it you will find out fast...

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
condenser fan motor, hvac compressor, start relay & capacitor


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.