Ac Blower Motor Cutting In/out - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2014, 10:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ac blower motor cutting in/out


got a centurian, model, gf8050b12mu11a, blower motor fan runs intermittantly.6 years old, could just TOUCH control board and all was ok for a few days. same thing , just wiggled board a bit and fan would kick on and run for a few days.all wiring looks good. just changed out the board, getting an error code 9, saysCheck polarity or ground. pulled leads for fan motor off. i seem to have continuity between neutral and either the 3 speed wires(blk,red,blue)... bad motor?

Advertisement

steve1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 10:58 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ac blower motor cutting in/out


kind of confused, motor seems to have an intermittant short, why no tripped breaker?

Advertisement

steve1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 11:48 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 1,354
Default

ac blower motor cutting in/out


You should have continuity between those fan leads, pretty low resistance also. Any of those with resistance to ground would be bad. From your information I don't think there are any problems with the motor.

I remember reading a post not too long ago somewhere about a polarity error but I can't remember the details. Maybe it's talking about the 24 volt control transformer? It is AC but sometimes one lead is run to ground. One of the pros can most likely help on the polarity issue.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 02:17 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ac blower motor cutting in/out


im getting intermittent continuity from the 3 power leads (red/blk/blue) to ground, but the fan runs at times for a little while . but im not blowing board fuse or tripping breaker?
steve1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 10:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 109
Default

ac blower motor cutting in/out


If you weren't getting the error code before you changed out the board and now you are after you replaced the board then you may have something wired incorrectly... Double check and confirm that everything is wired properly. Make sure your transformer is wired correctly on the primary and secondary.
a.man1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Blower Wheel Failures AzJeepguy HVAC 8 08-03-2014 04:09 PM
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 09:39 PM
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 09:06 AM
Blower NOT continuously ON on Bryant 310AAV rational HVAC 5 08-15-2011 09:44 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 10:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts