Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 06:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

ac


I have a carrier ac system its seven years old, my blower in the air handler won't work, does it have a capacitor if it does where is it? how can I tell its the capacitor or the blower thanks for ,the help

jame725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 06:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,246
Default

ac


Is it humming and trying to start?
Tried turning off the breaker and turning it back on again?

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
plummen (09-05-2013)
Old 09-04-2013, 06:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Default

ac


Quote:
Originally Posted by jame725 View Post
I have a carrier ac system its seven years old, my blower in the air handler won't work, does it have a capacitor if it does where is it? how can I tell its the capacitor or the blower thanks for ,the help
First visually check for loose wires. Take a long wooden ruler or stick and carefully give the squirrel cage a push with it. If it starts to turn it is more than likely the run capacitor. If you have a multimeter that measures capacitance you can test the capacitor to see if it is within specs. Run capacitors are relatively cheap and easy to replace. That is the first item to suspect and I would start by replacing it.

If you need help on how to replace it post back for assistance. Be careful of high voltage and always turn the power off to the unit before touching any component.

Last edited by firedawgsatx; 09-04-2013 at 06:33 PM.
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 10:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Default

ac


hey firedaw that's what I was trying to find the capacitor for the motor in the air handler couldn't seem to locate it, its a carrier if that helps thanks again
jame725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 10:43 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,616
Default

ac


should have a capacitor, but it's very visible. two brown wires from the motor lead out to the cap.




does not mean motor is good if cap is bad.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 10:44 PM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,616
Default

ac


Quote:
Originally Posted by jame725 View Post
hey firedaw that's what I was trying to find the capacitor for the motor in the air handler couldn't seem to locate it, its a carrier if that helps thanks again
electric air handler? possible no capacitor. if motor is humming and not spinning, motor is fried.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:11 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,772
Default

ac


Post model number of air handler.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 04:27 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Default

ac


my model #fv4bnf003 I may need a control board hk61ea005 or if its not that a good used /rebuilt fan motor know of any places that won't break the federal reserve
jame725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:54 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Default

ac


I believe you have an ECM blower motor. Here is a link which can give you a lot of information: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ai...e-motor.html#b

If you determine the thermistor is the problem it is available on amazon.com.

The thermistor is SG348

Here is an informational video:

Last edited by firedawgsatx; 09-05-2013 at 05:58 PM.
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 10:13 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,772
Default

ac


It has a VS ECm blower motor. probably is the motor module.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 07:58 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Default

ac


Yes, more than likely it is the module. Due to the high costs of replacing this part some people with the proper skills, knowledge and tools have successfully diagnosed and managed to repair the problem relatively cheaply by replacing the thermistor. HVAC techs out in the field would not ordinarily attempt this type of repair because of the time involved and primarily because of the liability.
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:32 AM   #12
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,616
Default

ac


Quote:
Originally Posted by firedawgsatx View Post
Yes, more than likely it is the module. Due to the high costs of replacing this part some people with the proper skills, knowledge and tools have successfully diagnosed and managed to repair the problem relatively cheaply by replacing the thermistor. HVAC techs out in the field would not ordinarily attempt this type of repair because of the time involved and primarily because of the liability.
It would void the warranty is the issue. If the motor were out of warranty than it'd void the profit and money in my pocket. If I fixed a module and then it happened again, the home owner would be left without air yet again.

Me likey the warranty, keeps the blame simply focused.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 11:24 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Default

ac


thanks to all for good info, I took out the motor checked the thermistor it seems ok not burnt or anything could it be the control board hk61ea005 it looks ok too the only other thing is the motor oh by the way forgive my ignorance what is the module
jame725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 02:16 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 109
Default

ac


Quote:
Originally Posted by jame725 View Post
thanks to all for good info, I took out the motor checked the thermistor it seems ok not burnt or anything could it be the control board hk61ea005 it looks ok too the only other thing is the motor oh by the way forgive my ignorance what is the module
Have you checked that you have voltage going to your control board? Did you check the 5A fuse on the board to see if it has blown?

The module is the part that houses the electronics where you were looking at the thermistor.

Can you post the exact model of your blower motor? You should have a way to run a diagnostic that will flash a code to give you a clue as to what is going on.

Here is a link to the guide:
http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc...im-fv4b-02.pdf

Go to the bottom of page 15 and you should have the info you need to troubleshoot.
Attached Images
 


Last edited by firedawgsatx; 09-06-2013 at 02:36 PM.
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.