Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2012, 06:43 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
Share |
Default

70 degree Supply Air


I know there's a lot of people commenting here. From reading some of the posts and the original post. I get the feeling the area is too large for the Cooling unit being used. Too much heat gain from attic, and other places. Also in one of the posts Ryanxo he had mentioned the supply air gets down to 60 degrees or so. And has never been right in the two years he's had it. I think there's more here. Who knows what is running inside the house, TVs, oven, lights, computers,etc. It's possible this set up will never cool the load. It's not that much tonnage to start up with.
Just a tought...

Kapriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:00 AM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,501
Default

70 degree Supply Air


Its one ton per 600 sq ft.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:03 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
Default

70 degree Supply Air


Ok,

What's the real load ?
Kapriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:05 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
Default

70 degree Supply Air


I think the real load might surprise us.... Just a thought from an old timer.
Kapriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:08 AM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,501
Default

70 degree Supply Air


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapriel View Post
I think the real load might surprise us.... Just a thought from an old timer.
His insulation could be carry enough that it needs a 2.5 ton. Its always better to improve the house envelope so that the smaller unit can handle the load, instead of just putting in a larger unit. His return could be pulling in attic air.

Electric isn't 3 cents a KW anymore.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:11 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
Default

70 degree Supply Air


Food for thought,

I put a 6 ton portable AC unit the size of a refrigerator in a computer room
the size was about 12' X 12' the size of say a bedroom.
6 tons couldn't cool the load and humidity was not a problem. The building was already being cooled. The power supplies for computers put out heat like an electric heater. Anyways I could be wrong about the size thing would'nt be the first time.
Kapriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:13 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
Default

70 degree Supply Air


I still remember my grandmother trying to cool down her 95 degree kitchen
by leaving the refrigerator door open....... she said it helped.
Kapriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:31 AM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,501
Default

70 degree Supply Air


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapriel View Post
Food for thought,

I put a 6 ton portable AC unit the size of a refrigerator in a computer room
the size was about 12' X 12' the size of say a bedroom.
6 tons couldn't cool the load and humidity was not a problem. The building was already being cooled. The power supplies for computers put out heat like an electric heater. Anyways I could be wrong about the size thing would'nt be the first time.
I have 12.5 tons in a smaller computer room. on days above 95, it barely handles the load.

If the OP comes back and says he's running a server or 2 from his house, then yeah, he needs a larger unit.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:41 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
Default

70 degree Supply Air


It's amazing isn't it.....

I hooked up a 25 ton Voyager to a room 25' X 25' it started to cool the room but took forever to cool it just a few degrees. Condensate waste pouring out of the trap just one of those days.

Another job I hooked up a 75 ton Intellipak to buildings ductwork. It was pouring out condensate but only added a few degees cooling.

Both units work fine in our shop I tested them before sending them out.

I cannot control the customer's infrastructure.....
Kapriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 09:19 AM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,501
Default

70 degree Supply Air


That s the nature of commercial.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 10:54 AM   #26
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

70 degree Supply Air


Didn't see anybody post anything about how close to design temp the ODT was.

Getting a lot of units struggling here cause the heat load has surpassed our local 95* design criteria.

That the OP has other service symptoms I am not disputing. But the main cause is it's just too damn hot.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:10 AM   #27
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

70 degree Supply Air


heres a thought: Uncle runs a sprinkler on condensers to help increase capacity on at or above average design temp days.

Old refer man's trick, I am told.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 01:33 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
Default

70 degree Supply Air


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac5646 View Post
heres a thought: Uncle runs a sprinkler on condensers to help increase capacity on at or above average design temp days.

Old refer man's trick, I am told.
Are you serious ?
Kapriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 01:45 PM   #29
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,845
Default

70 degree Supply Air


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapriel

Are you serious ?
Yep. Keeps the coil cooler, thus allowing for the freon to be cooler, in turn allowing cooler air blowing across the a-coil.

No matter how hot it is outside, the air temp coming across my A-coil is always between 42-48 degrees farenheit.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 02:55 PM   #30
Member
 
ryanxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 77
Default

70 degree Supply Air


Wow. Thanks to all for the overwhelming responses. There are so many suggestions I don't even know where to start. Ok thats a lie I can start out by saying yea I'm an IT guy but NO i am not running a server farm in my house. The only desktop computer we have is in my room and it's not on very often and def not during the day because yes it heats up my room and my room is the hottest one no matter what. I've worked in server rooms... i know how much heat they pump out lol.

My insulation is about 6 inches thick in the attic. I have 3 gable vents. 1 of which has a fan in it. And I have an attic fan coming out of the top of the roof. Both come on when it hits 90 up there.

The heat the past few days has been damn hot. like 98 + with heat index of 104 so thats when i reallly noticed it struggling. It would be set on 74 all day and by 6pm it was 78 in the house.

I have checked and sealed my return... it is zip tied, mesh taped and masticed, as well as aluminum taped over that. If there is any attic air being sucked in well it's ninja air and no one can stop it.

I'll check the temp at the air handler and get back with results. ugh 125 degree attic temps.... i never wanna be up there again but I guess i have no choice.

Is it ok to wrap the air handler in insulation? After taking the side panels off I noticed that it doesnt have much inside of that thing. Would that help?

I'm still concerned that the air coming out of the condensor outside isn't hot.

I'm going out of town this week for 4th of july but as soon as I get back on Sunday I'll be back at it. AC guy can't come today so he is coming next monday when i get back.

And as for spraying the condensor... I did that a few times hoping it would help... hell I even sprayed the roof with the water hose on Saturday to cool the attic down. Didn't really help just made some cool looking steam. Who's idea was it to put dark asphalt shingles on rooves anyway?!

__________________
I am not an expert in anything. Any advice you take from me is strictly at your own risk!
ryanxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cold Refrigerant Line...Warm Supply camryman95 HVAC 7 06-30-2011 05:29 PM
combustion air grills near supply vent? denemante HVAC 2 05-09-2011 03:22 PM
Distance between HVAC supply and return vents atlantatd HVAC 4 04-13-2011 08:30 PM
Rerouting stack and water supply for an added beam WillK Plumbing 1 03-02-2011 08:27 AM
Extending Water Supply Box In Laundry Room hsl Building & Construction 0 11-18-2009 09:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.