5 Ton Unit Or 2 Seperate Units - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2009, 11:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

5 ton unit or 2 seperate units


I currently have a Rheem 5 ton unit that is 17 yrs old. It covers 3300 sq ft and I have 2 stories. The unit only has one zone. With that, the uptairs stays very warm in the summer and needs to be fixed.

I have had two reputable companies come take a look and said they would put in a Lennox or Rheem Gas 5 ton Pack Unit and Zone the upstairs with a Honeywell Zoning System.

Would you guys use the Zoning System over putting in a seperate unit for the upstairs? I know that would bring more labor and work, with a return upstairs and reconfiguring the duct runs for the upstairs.

I have talked to a techincan who I know and could install the 2 units, but he says he refuses to mess with the Zoning Systems, b/c he sees them mess up alot. I dont know if he is saying this b/c he doesnt know how to work on the Zoning System or if he does feel this strongly about splitting up my units.

I know the techincan personally so I know he is not pulling my chain.

The two reputable companies said putting in a 5 ton and using the Honeywell Zoning System was the best economical way to fix my AC/Heat issue in the house.

I live in Brentwood, TN if anyone is curious...suburb of Nashville.

Thanks for the advice.

Advertisement

allenky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 06:35 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,407
Rewards Points: 4,466
Default

5 ton unit or 2 seperate units


Zoning systems are very reliable. Too many techs don't understand how to zone properly. And then condem zoning systems.


I would still want a return upstairs for a zoned system.

If you zone it. Ask them to quote you an Envirozone(still Honeywell, but better then their other zoning systems) system.
Its more expensive up front. But will save you money in operating cost.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 06:13 AM
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 11:11 AM
Electric question from power pole to unit Slocalaman Electrical 3 11-06-2008 04:23 PM
central unit will not come on ....please help guyasc HVAC 5 08-24-2008 06:10 PM
Wall unit AC drips water inside fw2007 HVAC 4 08-15-2008 11:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts