5" Filter To Replace 1" Filter - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2010, 04:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.C.
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 250
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Has anyone ever used this Honeywell 5" air filter to replace a standard air return grill 1" filter? I tried to find it on the Honeywell site but could not.



http://www.filter-outlet.com/product...product=112922

Advertisement

Earnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 06:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 75
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Earnie
Has anyone ever used this Honeywell 5" air filter to replace a standard air return grill 1" filter? I tried to find it on the Honeywell site but could not.

http://www.filter-outlet.com/product...product=112922
U have to have a five inch filter grille or a five inch filter track

Advertisement

Hixheat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 07:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.C.
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 250
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Not the way I read the description.

States that it is for 1 inch deep air return grilles. So in theory, you could place a 5 inch deep air filter in a 1 inch deep grille. Less restrictive air flow and better air filtering.

But, that is exactly why I'm asking.
Earnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 08:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 75
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Earnie
Not the way I read the description.

States that it is for 1 inch deep air return grilles. So in theory, you could place a 5 inch deep air filter in a 1 inch deep grille. Less restrictive air flow and better air filtering.

But, that is exactly why I'm asking.
Don't think so! If u find it wht is static drop? And wht holds it in place. And how was your filter grille installed I would hope it is oversized. Not as mush as the grille but the depth of the box behind it.
Hixheat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 08:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Never saw one like that before Earnie. Looks like a good idea for those with enough room in the duct. Pretty high priced though. A normal honeywell media filter is less then $30.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 09:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 75
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S.
Never saw one like that before Earnie. Looks like a good idea for those with enough room in the duct. Pretty high priced though. A normal honeywell media filter is less then $30.
I think he has a lot of dust, it might be high static he may need a new duct system.
Hixheat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 07:45 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.C.
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 250
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


I'm just looking for options to get better indoor air filtering.

Data I have shows air handler has 1100 cfm air flow. Return air grille has two, 12 inch flex ducts going to the return plenum. Grille is 20" x 25". Air return filter box is 22 inches deep so it excees the minumum 7 inches required to accept the 5 inch thick filter.

I believe I read that it lowers static pressure since its less restrictive.

Yes, very expensive. I've read many reports about the benefits of filters thicker than the standard 1 inch filters. Maybe this filter is something new Honeywell as developed?
Earnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 05:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 75
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Earnie
I'm just looking for options to get better indoor air filtering.

Data I have shows air handler has 1100 cfm air flow. Return air grille has two, 12 inch flex ducts going to the return plenum. Grille is 20" x 25". Air return filter box is 22 inches deep so it excees the minumum 7 inches required to accept the 5 inch thick filter.

I believe I read that it lowers static pressure since its less restrictive.

Yes, very expensive. I've read many reports about the benefits of filters thicker than the standard 1 inch filters. Maybe this filter is something new Honeywell as developed?
I will research for u
Hixheat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:24 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.C.
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 250
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


HH1,

That is a very nice offer. Thank you!
Earnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 09:52 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Very common...return grille filters, rests in the 1" track with the remainder of the filter inset in the return.

The Honeywell FC40 is a 4" to 5" Filter. Honeywell also has an FC20, 2" version. Drops right into a return grille...the down side...Honeywell only offers standard sizes which sometimes don't fit the grilles of some grille manufacturers; you need a Grille Size Filters. Practical Pleats by Filtration Manufacturing (MERV10) , are another option - most common sizes and an array of custom sizes.
Filters&More is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 07:29 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.C.
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 250
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Hi F&M,

Thanks for the link.

So other 5" replacement filters do exist for 1" return grilles. Practical Pleat looks similar to the Honeywell filter.

A very informative but stange website. Lots of product information and ordering links for products, but NO pricing. How do you order product without a price? Actually, I don't think I saw filter sizes either.
Earnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 04:06 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,558
Rewards Points: 4,754
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


The Honeywells you linked to are for 1" filter frames.

however. Your 20X25 filter grille is only good for 800 CFM at 300 FPM. So if you have 1100 CFM goping through it. It should be making noise. If its not loud. Good chance you don't have 1100 CFM going through it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 08:21 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.C.
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 250
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Hi BT,

1" deep x 20" x 25" filter is what I currently use. That size was installed with the system so I'm stuck with it. The wall the return grille is in is 6" logs. Not much chance I'll get approval to run the chain saw in the house so we are stuck with that size.

From the system documentaion I have, the air handler is limited to 1000 cfm due to the heat strip package. I have never tested it so I am relying on manufacturer values.

The system does have another air return on the second floor. 16" x 20" x 1" return grille with mostly 10" hard pipe back to the return plenum.

So, in theory, is upgrading the 1" thick filters to 5" thick filters a good idea?
Earnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 09:41 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,558
Rewards Points: 4,754
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Its an "ok" idea. Best to measure how much static the return has before installing them. But since you don't have a manometer, I would try it in the spring. And see if you have any adverse effects. You don't want adverse effects in the middle of winter.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 07:54 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.C.
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 250
Default

5" Filter to Replace 1" Filter


Good point. I'll need a new filter by then anyway.

I do have a home made manometer thanks to some info you provided in a past post. Clear rubber hose attached to a white board. Have not used it yet. Too many other projects but checking it is on the list.

Advertisement

Earnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace Whole House Air Filter kenm09 HVAC 5 02-26-2010 07:17 PM
Hog Hair Filter mjbxx HVAC 10 04-10-2009 09:46 AM
Bypass Humidifier goes before or after air filter? key1cc HVAC 9 12-30-2008 10:12 AM
Furnace/Air Filter Cover bcme136 HVAC 14 09-25-2008 07:34 PM
How often shold I replace my air filter? bigboyjoel HVAC 3 06-13-2007 07:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts