Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2011, 11:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

4 red flashing lights


Have American Standard Freedom 90 vs. I have the heat on and the furnace light indicator has one flash of green then followed by a series of 4 red flashing lights. Heat then shuts down. I do not have manual, and can not find one on line. Any ideas?

Mongiovi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 11:18 AM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,638
Default

4 red flashing lights


Cut n pasted this:

The general error flash codes for the majority of the Freedom 90 series shows 4 flashes as an "open temperature limit circuit". There are a number of limits on furnaces and they need to be checked to see which one is open. There is a thermal cutout that is auto reset and two flame rollout sensors that are usually manual reset. They are all on the same circuit and usually are connected by yellow wires. If it is one of the flame rollout sensors then there will be a small button to press to reset it. If it is an auto reset limit then cycling the power off and back on to the furnace will clear the code and allow the furnace to start again. If there is a real problem the limit will trip again and lock out the furnace.

The reason limits usually trip is that there is not enough airflow in the system. This is usually found to be a dirty filter, dirty indoor coil, or too many air registers closed down or blocked. Check all these and if the problem is still there, get back to me with the full model number of your furnace - it is located in the compartment with the burners.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Mongiovi (11-21-2011)
Old 11-21-2011, 11:34 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default

4 red flashing lights


All of the registers are open, and I replaced filter, what is the indoor coil? Just incase here is the model # AUY120R9V5V3 serial # R465SJL7G I appreciate your help!
Mongiovi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 11:37 AM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,638
Default

4 red flashing lights


Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 12:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Default

4 red flashing lights


back around the 2001-2004 era, Trane and American Standard had a bunch of bad boards that would give a false code 4. If you can't find a good reason for the code, I would be suspect of the main board. Now on the other hand if you find an open limit then the board is OK.Limits open up from lack of air flow and flame roll out.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
flashing help needed endgrainguy Roofing/Siding 3 12-31-2009 10:09 PM
Need roofing tips! dc4nomore Roofing/Siding 114 07-03-2009 07:01 AM
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 08:35 PM
Changing switch for lights in basement, confused on current wiring. RyanD Electrical 2 05-14-2009 08:37 PM
New lights in basement CooperChloe Electrical 11 01-11-2009 11:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.