Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2014, 05:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Unhappy

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


Hey, I have exhausted my troublshooting ability...I need some direction.

I'm having the same 3amp fuse blow on the fan board...I have determined that I don't have any shorts in the house wiring (via multimeter), the contactor seems to be working without shorts (16.5ohms on the coil and no shorts). Fan will turn on via jumper (G & R) or via switch on thermostat.

Any attempt to use thermostat to turn on cooling will pop the fuse.
once I jumper yellow or orange (along with red & green) the fuse pops.

I am thinking maybe the reversing board (not sure what it is called)... help!

russkateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 06:05 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,420
Rewards Points: 60
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


Check the low voltage wiring going outside for damage from rodents chewing it or a weed whacker.


Take the wires off after labeling them outside and hang them safely in the air and turn on the unit. If it blows then the wiring is shorted. If not then it is in the unit itself.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 06:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


No damage to low voltage line. Fuse blows when no thermostat wire is connected, but jumping directly at outside interface.
russkateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 05:50 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,098
Rewards Points: 96
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


May be the wire between the outdoor and indoor unit. Or the outdoor contactor, or RV coil. You can use an ohm meter to find out.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 06:36 AM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


remove the 24 into the condenser and do the jump at the board in the furnace .first shut the disconnect off outside just looking for 24vs to the contactor don't need line power there.outside...those wires from the condenser circuit within the condenser after disconnecting them check both to copper pipe for groundings??with the 24voff the condenser if the fuse doesn't blow and you read 24vs then the short is in the condenser contactor lp/hp controls wires
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 07:50 AM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,765
Rewards Points: 22
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


Quote:
Originally Posted by russkateer View Post
Any attempt to use thermostat to turn on cooling will pop the fuse.

Uhm, anyone else see this?

If stat unhooked and jumping cool at furnace brings on cool no issues and the 24 volt wire to contactor is not grounded/shorted (unhook at contactor, twist those two 24 volts wires together outside effectively making them one wire, remove same wires from control board and test continuity/ohms through those two wires, *firstly turning power off by way of breaker to entire system*) and you've exhausted all resources, change the stat.
__________________
Thanks.

Last edited by Doc Holliday; 08-29-2014 at 07:54 AM.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 09:22 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


Hey Doc, I may have miscommunicated...when thermostat is connected and it calls for cooling, fuse pops. Also pops when I manually call for cooling at the unit input wire (jumper G, R, Y & O).
russkateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 09:23 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


My last statement when jumpering has the LV wire into The house disconnected.
russkateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 09:30 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


A couple other facts for you all, this unit is a Carrier 50ez...

Single phase 230v

Installed 2 yes ago...no problems till a couple days ago. I suspect a component failure as the only exposed wiring has already been inspected. Internal wiring would have to have some tremendous vibrations to wear through insulation that fast.

Thanks for your help...I'll try some things out! Cooler weather today, so less pressure today. ;-)
russkateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 09:32 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,065
Rewards Points: 18
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


Quote:
Originally Posted by russkateer View Post
My last statement when jumpering has the LV wire into The house disconnected.
I guess this is a package unit? Did you try jumping Y and O one at a time to see if either one or both blew the fuse?
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 09:46 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


Yes, individually they both pop the fuse.
russkateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 11:53 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


OK, I have also now checked the pressure switches on the refrigerant line as I saw this could also cause the fuse to blow... Both were good...although on of the switches was looped back to itself...odd?
russkateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 11:57 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


Hey been there, I believe outdoor contactor is in good condition (16.5ohms across the coil and no short detected). To check the reversing coil do I need to remove the defrost board and check at solder points? Or is there an easier way?...also, how do I know which relay is the reversing set?
russkateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 11:59 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


Biggles, not sure I can do what you are asking...it is an all in one heat pump...any other ideas?
russkateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 05:19 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,098
Rewards Points: 96
Default

3Amp fuse on Fan Board blowing!


Just disconnect the RV coils wires from teh defrost board and ohm them out.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse, heat pump, hvac


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100 AMP Fuse Blowing on Service Disconnect on One Phase actormike Electrical 17 12-10-2013 03:28 PM
Micro Wave Oven blowing circuit fuse jankencanada Electrical 5 12-23-2012 12:47 PM
2 week old Amana APG13M blows board fuse 95ponymobile HVAC 13 12-02-2012 09:42 AM
dishwasher keeps blowing fuse funkjosh Appliances 12 10-31-2012 11:32 AM
luxaire/york 33109167000 furnace board replacement check HVAC 18 07-13-2009 10:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.