Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-13-2012, 09:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

34 Man Hours to Install Gas Furnace


I was just billed for 34 man hours to remove old furnace and install a small 85% efficient boiler at a house I own in PA. Old furnace was oil, but gas line was already in basement, within 20 feet of the new furnace. I wasn't around for all of the work, but this seems like a lot of hours. Furnace was vented directly outside of basement, and not through chimney.

pmb151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 09:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,545
Default

34 Man Hours to Install Gas Furnace


Do you not have a signed contract stating what it was going to cost to install? If not shame on you.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (02-13-2012)
Old 02-13-2012, 10:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennesse
Posts: 74
Default

34 Man Hours to Install Gas Furnace


a picture is worth a thousand words......
dosy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,243
Default

34 Man Hours to Install Gas Furnace


agree with dosy seeing is believing....show us what you got .....will tell you what to do
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-13-2012)
Old 02-13-2012, 10:12 PM   #5
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,765
Default

34 Man Hours to Install Gas Furnace


So about 7k for an oil to gas conversion including equipment? sounds about right.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 04:36 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,378
Default

34 Man Hours to Install Gas Furnace


Hot water or steam? Copper or black pipe for the boiler piping? Single or multiple zone system? Black pipe of CSST for the gas piping? Upgraded to meet code or not? Chimney liner installed also? How old, and what size was old boiler?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:45 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,212
Default

34 Man Hours to Install Gas Furnace


If you really think about it this way it don't seem like to many hours. 2 men 2 days = 32 hours so I don't think it's out of line. Of course I don't know what the job details were and you should have had a bottom line contract before the work began.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:35 AM   #8
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

34 Man Hours to Install Gas Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by pmb151 View Post
I was just billed for 34 man hours to remove old furnace and install a small 85% efficient boiler at a house I own in PA. Old furnace was oil, but gas line was already in basement, within 20 feet of the new furnace. I wasn't around for all of the work, but this seems like a lot of hours. Furnace was vented directly outside of basement, and not through chimney.
You should of read it but still we cannot see what they saw in the replacement. Some times if job looks like its going to take longer and be more harder you all ways bid high so you don't lose money. Plus you should of got couple more quotes on it to compare price's.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 08:28 AM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,600
Default

34 Man Hours to Install Gas Furnace


you went from hot air to hot water/steam heating was baseboard or rads installed in the spaces

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New furnace and a/c coil install done raylo32 HVAC 4 10-05-2011 07:46 PM
Furnace Install Cost jrppa8 Off Topic 5 10-03-2010 02:48 PM
Installing a new Furnace, Shoud I install an A/C Coil Now? hartkem HVAC 1 11-10-2008 09:31 AM
Furnace install in attic - Duct configuration hartkem HVAC 6 11-08-2008 05:46 PM
How to install an expansion tank in my hot water furnace? DanBress HVAC 18 10-08-2008 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.