Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2010, 08:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Share |
Default

3 speed 3 ton Goodman handler operation.


So after finding that my 20 year old Carrier brand handler has a bad coil, I just bought a Goodman model# ARUF364216 handler.
http://www.alpinehomeair.com/viewpro...ctID/453057258

This unit will be installed soon and would like to find out how the 3 speeds come into play.

Does it start up slow and get faster and faster to save on amp draw?

Does it automatically change speeds depending on its own calculations?

Does it need to be hooked up the the T stat so you can select the speed?

Do you have to have a certain T stat to operate the 3 dif speeds?
mr.coinring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 09:31 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,333
Default

3 speed 3 ton Goodman handler operation.


The lowest speed on some units can be used when the tstat is turned to ON. The other 2 speeds are not both used. The installer picks one for A/C use and if the unit came with electric strips for heating then the other speed would be used for that. The circuit board changes the speeds depending if it is on heat or AC or continuous run.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 09:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Default

3 speed 3 ton Goodman handler operation.


Now I'm really confused.....

So.... I will have a dif speed weather its on heat or a/c?

My father installed one of these 3 speed goodmans and said something about starting out slow when it first comes on and then getting faster...would there be some other controller needed for this?

What speed would typically be used for a/c....and which speed for heat?

I live it hot TX and usually use a wood stove in the winter.

Yes...it has heat strips...or three coils rather.

Last edited by mr.coinring; 05-28-2010 at 09:52 PM.
mr.coinring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 10:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 585
Default

3 speed 3 ton Goodman handler operation.


Your air handler will run a single speed. It does not have a variable speed motor so cannot ramp up. The other 2 inactive speeds will connect to M1 and M2. (See note 3)






When your system is installed, the external static pressure should be measured. The reading will determine the correct speed to use to move the required cfm for your tonnage.

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 05:17 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,490
Default

3 speed 3 ton Goodman handler operation.


As Houston points out. Its just a PSC blower. So you select the one speed that works with your condense and duct system.
It has no slow ramp up, or slow down ability for humidity control. So any heat cool thermostat will work with it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 07:11 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Default

3 speed 3 ton Goodman handler operation.


Now I understand....Thanks guys!

Now I just need to start getting this old unit out of the attic.

Hope this new handler works better than the old one.
mr.coinring is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman air handler adjustment Xander08 HVAC 2 12-24-2009 02:32 PM
Goodman Air Handler won't shut down RonH HVAC 1 12-21-2008 05:55 PM
variable speed or single speed air handler bchlady HVAC 2 06-05-2008 08:40 PM
Slowing fan motor speed in air handler Manuel6 HVAC 7 04-17-2007 09:01 AM
Goodman Air Handler with Missing Parts cougarhsv HVAC 2 01-17-2007 08:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.