Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2011, 06:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 prong to 2 prong capacitor conversion


Old motor is obsolete, new replacement motor takes smaller size. replaced old cap as well. not sure how to wire. everything i find tells me to wire the brown and white to the new cap, black to power and another to c on old cap. there is no fourth wire on this motor. i'm stuck please help. been broke all summer.

thanks
pregnant and fuming in ohio.

hotandmad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 07:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default

3 prong to 2 prong capacitor conversion


Not sure what you are doing. 3 prong capacitor is a dual capacitor, 2 prong capacitor is single capacitor, they are not the same.

clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 07:07 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,981
Rewards Points: 3,632
Default

3 prong to 2 prong capacitor conversion


Post pic of motor and its wires and capacitor
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 07:15 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 prong to 2 prong capacitor conversion


motor is ao smith 9723. that is the motor that was recommended as the replacement by ao themselves.

currently i only have old photos of what was there
and now figuring out how to upload them... brb
hotandmad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 07:20 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 prong to 2 prong capacitor conversion


ok cant figure pics out. almost got it all together have new cap on just waiting on a final on the white and brown wire......old motor was AO33 S

sorry patience are wearing thin. not real happy about this supposed to be simpler than last design...totally opposite.
hotandmad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 07:25 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,981
Rewards Points: 3,632
Default

3 prong to 2 prong capacitor conversion


How many wires does the new motor have.
list each wire separately using a comma between each wire.

EG: Black, brown, etc, etc.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 07:41 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 prong to 2 prong capacitor conversion


got it thx for the time

hotandmad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cutting off ground prong powerquestion Electrical 23 05-19-2011 06:22 AM
Installing a 4 prong dryer plug Amandamayes Appliances 4 07-16-2010 02:17 PM
changing 3 prong receptacle to 4 prong WendyS Electrical 12 01-17-2010 09:59 PM
Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate Electrical 8 08-10-2008 05:42 PM
2 Prong Electrical mjcongleton Electrical 10 04-16-2008 09:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.