Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2006, 04:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


I had a new furnace put in today. Its a frigidaire 80,000 BTU force hot air unit. I was told by the installer that my gas line (3/4") is not big enough and that the line needs to open up to 1 1/2" after the main. I guess I am confused because main gas line coming up through the ground is only 3/4" so how would opening up to a 1 1/2" pipe increase flow. The main has a T connector on it with one (3/4")line going to another thermopride unit which works fine and the other 3/4" line going to my hot water heater and new furnace. The hot water heater works fine. I have no other appliances using the gas. The gas man said I had 8 something or other coming from the main which is more than enough. Anyone know what is going on here.

raymond_anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 05:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,670
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


I would call the business that is doing the installation and explain what the gas company said. I have never seen that size line for residential even though I have had the same units running off a 1" main. You don't want to "starve" any appliance for gas but that size sounds pretty large.

__________________
If you have never made a mistake, you haven't done much.
majakdragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 05:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


I am looking at the notes now and it says 1 1/4" I apologize. My install guys are blaming it on the fact that the plumbers who hooked up my other furnace used 3/4" pipe and tapped off of the existing line. However, the other furnace and appliances arent even on. I feel like im gonna get screwed on this.
raymond_anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 01:27 PM   #4
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


Hi raymond anthony

Whomever is doing your installation sound like they smoked their crack pipe prior to coming to your house. Ask them to show you a layout of the gas line sizing chart from block. I bet they don't even know what that is. I bet the gas man was talking about 8 inches of gas pressure. For natural gas that is about perfect. I would probably have to reccomend finding someone else to do your plumbing.

Good luck
Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 12:32 AM   #5
I blame ProWallGuy
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 244
Rewards Points: 150
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


I assume we're talking natural gas here. If so, 3/4" will carry a great deal of BTU load, but that all depends on the incoming pressure after the meter. The gas company can tell you what that is. Keep in mind, that they usually use a 2 psig delivery but only 4 ounces of pressure past the meter.

Your local gas code will dictate the size of line required for this new heater. Get a gas fitter or plumber to come out and take a look.
Double A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 08:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


tell them that if they replace the line and it does not fix the problem you will not be obligated to pay for it see if they still think it is the problem , most of the time if a gas line is to small the heater will still start but not stay lit or have a small flame
mrairflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:01 PM   #7
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


Quote:
Originally Posted by #CARRIERMAN View Post
Hi raymond anthony

Whomever is doing your installation sound like they smoked their crack pipe prior to coming to your house. Ask them to show you a layout of the gas line sizing chart from block. I bet they don't even know what that is. I bet the gas man was talking about 8 inches of gas pressure. For natural gas that is about perfect. I would probably have to reccomend finding someone else to do your plumbing.

Good luck
Rusty

I'll have to go with Carrierman here. Have this blissful plumber do a lay out and sizing. Also make him have the code book that will have sizing info there. There reaction might give a clue to if he is BS's you for more money/work
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 05:48 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,632
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
I'll have to go with Carrierman here. Have this blissful plumber do a lay out and sizing. Also make him have the code book that will have sizing info there. There reaction might give a clue to if he is BS's you for more money/work
Look at the date of the OP's post.

Hope its resolved after 3 years.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 02:34 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


I sell gas regulators..and trust me if you can get 14" water column of gas to a regulator you can most definitely pass at least 150,000btu/hr of gas out of a 3/4" gas line. Call someone more competent.
Viper16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 03:07 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,632
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


How many BTUs is the Thermopride, and how many BTU's is the water hater.
How long of a run is ti from the meter to the water heater, and the new furnace.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 05:45 PM   #11
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Look at the date of the OP's post.

Hope its resolved after 3 years.

HATE WHEN THA HAPPENS
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 05:59 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,632
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

3/4" gas line needs to be bigger


LOL.. Yea, lots of old post revived recently.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ac suction line placement? nimbenja HVAC 8 10-28-2009 05:43 AM
Condensate Line schott HVAC 17 06-02-2008 03:16 PM
how to run fridge water line under kitchen floor? travishume Plumbing 23 09-26-2006 07:51 AM
Relocating water supply line from well Mikedks Plumbing 6 09-22-2006 01:41 PM
Installing exterior faucet to washer line? skellies Plumbing 3 06-18-2006 08:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.