Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-25-2007, 12:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

2nd furance or zone system??


hi.
i have a 1959 bungalow in Dearborn Michigan. with basement and a 800sf second floor master bed room and bathroom.
the problem is it is hard to heat and cool the 2nd floor.
i`m debating between having the duct work re done for 3 zones basement,main and second floor and 1 furnace.
or just adding a second furnace and a/c for just the second floor, and what apx size?

there are allot of these types of homes in the mid west so i know i`m not the only one with this problem.
thanks for your input and suggestions.
randy

ranman469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 03:08 PM   #2
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

2nd furance or zone system??


Add the second furnace, residential duct zoning never works as good as commerical, you don't have the blower power or the space (bypass dampers/ etc) to really do it right in a house. VAV or VVT in a house setting is like trying to retrofit a VW bug with an Rolls Royce SST jet engine.

bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 03:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

2nd furance or zone system??


what btu and a/c apx. would be needed for 800-900sf?
ranman469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 03:13 PM   #4
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

2nd furance or zone system??


That isn't a guessing issue, you need to have a proper heat loss heat gain calculation done to match your construct/ insulation/etc.
bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 03:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

2nd furance or zone system??


i figured that. but everytime you call someone for a est.or info like this they want to sell you and stay all day until you buy. and i`m going to get and do my own work.
ranman469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 08:19 AM   #6
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

2nd furance or zone system??


We do zoning in houses all the time with no problems at all. It has come a long way and is cheaper than two systems. We use Honeywell products but there are other good ones out there. The biggest thing is getting the duct and bypass sized right.

These are not jobs that I would try yourself. The sizing, design and installation are the most important things and if not done properly can lead to many problems.
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 12:43 PM   #7
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

2nd furance or zone system??


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac122 View Post
We do zoning in houses all the time with no problems at all. It has come a long way and is cheaper than two systems. We use Honeywell products but there are other good ones out there. The biggest thing is getting the duct and bypass sized right.

These are not jobs that I would try yourself. The sizing, design and installation are the most important things and if not done properly can lead to many problems.
Professionally installed they work ok at best and never work as well as their commerical counterparts. You need minimum air flow through the dampers and a way other than a bypass damper to control air flow. I have seen some of the variable speed furnaces work better than most but it is just a cheap way to try and get real zoning.
bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 10:22 PM   #8
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

2nd furance or zone system??


Well I have had zoning in my house for ten years and it has worked perfectly. I believe that if done right there would be years of worrie free comfort. We have many out on variable speed blowers and have had great results. I will say that there are not alot of people out there that can do it right.

hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding 3rd zone to honeywell trol-a-temp system bhelman HVAC 5 03-03-2010 05:11 PM
Weil Mclain Boiler air in system manning01 HVAC 11 10-06-2007 11:35 PM
Zone system not working with heat. deliriousga HVAC 5 12-29-2006 07:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.