Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-16-2012, 05:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

26VAC reaches heat exchanger...but...


Hey all,

I have a heat exchanger outside that is not working--no fan, nothing.

When I switch the thermostat to "AC" after a few moments the house fan goes on and at the same time I read 26VAC right at the heat exchanger outside--the same two wires that left the thermostat and arrive at the heat exchanger.

The thermostat signal is getting to the unit. I also read 240VAC on either side of a relay which is under the cover of the unit. I can see that this relay is not closing when the 26V signal arrives.

But the 26VAC does not go directly to the coils of the relay that starts the unit, there's something in between:

There's a device between the input 26VAC signal and the coil of the relay--it appears to be a heat sensing device because one side of it is attached to one of the condensing coils. One of the 26V wires goes through this device on the way to the relay coil.

As a troubleshooting question, can I run a jumper over this device long enough to see if the relay closes and the unit begins functioning? That would mean a bad...I'm assuming it's some sort of thermostat...device.

If that's not safe, any troubleshooting suggestions?

Thanks!

Edit: and by "safe" I do not mean safe to life and limb. I'm being very careful around the 240 Volts. I mean, is it safe on the hardware to do this test...


Last edited by quivil; 03-16-2012 at 05:43 PM. Reason: addendum...
quivil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 05:57 PM   #2
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

26VAC reaches heat exchanger...but...


sound like a low pressure cut out. you could be low on gas. Pics would be helpful in this case.

hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 07:42 PM   #3
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

26VAC reaches heat exchanger...but...


Don't understand.You say you have 26v to the contactor but don't know if the 26v are going through that device.
If you have voltage to the contactor and you have 240 volts to the contactor,then the contactor isn't pulling in.Its a bad contactor.
If the voltage stops at that device before it gets to the contactor then you have a differant problem and you have to figure out what that device is and what triggers it,I.E. would be low pressure ( low of freon).Then you have to fix that problem by finding the leak,fixing it then evacuating the system and refilling the system.Not a job for a home owner.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 08:14 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Default

26VAC reaches heat exchanger...but...


Now that the two of you have pointed out that the device I was speaking of is a low pressure switch, I agree, it's not a job for me!

Thanks much guys...

Nic
quivil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace problem - Heat Exchanger??? mystar HVAC 13 03-11-2012 06:30 PM
Do I replace Heat Exchanger or wait? coder_t2 HVAC 17 12-18-2011 01:33 PM
Repair or Replace 13 yr old Furnace with Cracked Heat Exchanger Thor73 HVAC 33 11-12-2011 08:14 PM
Trane XL90 heat exchanger Lizardking HVAC 2 11-01-2011 08:44 PM
Heat Exchanger Inspection DIY Ruuduser HVAC 4 03-22-2009 10:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.