24volt Wiring Question - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2013, 03:59 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

24volt wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by raylo32 View Post
Is there a label on the radio control box that names the wires? It would help the guys here if you would post pictures.

PEPCO came around and wanted to install one of those on mine and I declined. I just set my a/c back with the thermostat during the day and don't want them mucking with it.
DTE is threatening to shut my service off if I don't get these wires re-connected and I can't afford to hire an electrician. How do I post a picture? No there is no label either.

Advertisement

markharmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 04:01 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

24volt wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by qbert View Post
They two wires from the utility go in series with the control wire from the thermostat to the contactor. best to call someone out as the utility owns the that device. any hvacr guy should be able to help
I can't I dont have any money. Can you help me?
markharmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 04:11 PM   #18
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,096
Rewards Points: 604
Default

24volt wiring question


How did the wires get disconnected? This thread talks describes how to post pictures using Photobucket. I find this to be the easiest and it works really well.

Condensation all over floor at furnace
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 04:44 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

24volt wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by raylo32 View Post
How did the wires get disconnected? This thread talks describes how to post pictures using Photobucket. I find this to be the easiest and it works really well.

Condensation all over floor at furnace
I have no idea how they got disconnected.
markharmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 04:50 PM   #20
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

24volt wiring question


Just call the POCO. They probably have folks to work on this stuff. The equipment is theirs anyway.
As you've been told several times already in this thread. Most electricians do not work on this equipment.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 05:44 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

24volt wiring question


what is POCO?
markharmon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to markharmon For This Useful Post:
QueBall (07-23-2013)
Old 07-23-2013, 06:17 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 75
Default

24volt wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by markharmon
what is POCO?
POwer COmpany
clydesdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:37 PM   #23
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

24volt wiring question


Somebody disabled the shut off 24 v circuit.

When the power co gets into a brown out situation your meter will shut off your ac to help relieve the brown out conditions.

They usually do so for for about twenty minutes at a time. They give a discount on your rate in return for turning off your ac meter for a short time.

So you are getting the discounted rate but your ac cannot be turned off by the power company snce the wires you mention are dis connected.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:49 PM   #24
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

24volt wiring question


I can help.

Where are the disconnected wires and what color are they?
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:49 PM   #25
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

24volt wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by markharmon View Post
I have no idea how they got disconnected.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 08:14 PM   #26
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

24volt wiring question


all they are doing is breaking your 24V to your system not supplying it...you have a stat right?R red hot 24v primary...y /yellow./cool.. G/green/FAN ...w/white/heat ...they are breaking the RED normally closed open on their command thru their control ...remove the pair on the NC points and wire nut them together...doubt they are controlling the fan cooling and heat?once they break the R/red the show shuts down
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 08:32 PM   #27
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

24volt wiring question


Congrats...u just blew the RC xfmr.

Last edited by hvac5646; 07-24-2013 at 10:33 AM.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 09:53 PM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,521
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

24volt wiring question


All your threads on this have been merged into this one. Please don't make duplicate threads. thank you.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:16 PM   #29
Member
 
dmclean701's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 152
Default

24volt wiring question


PG&E has been trying to get these installed by sending out a $50 rebate and telling customers the box will cause your AC to "use less energy", but it won't turn your AC off. When I questioned them about this by email they admitted the radio control opens the contactor to stop the compressor. Thus it uses less energy. I asked if they thought this was misleading; telling people it won't turn off the AC. They said "well the blower is still running". I offered the analogy that it was like saying we don't stop your car we just turn off the engine. They didn't see the logic of this at all, but I suppose I was talking to public information flacks not technical people. I declined to have one also.

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum

Last edited by dmclean701; 07-24-2013 at 12:19 PM.
dmclean701 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmclean701 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (07-24-2013)
Old 07-24-2013, 04:10 PM   #30
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

24volt wiring question


In this area the utility only credits customers 10 bucks and ther is only a few around. Had to hook up one on new system install this spring

Advertisement

qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
208V/3 Phase Wiring Question efalcon1 Electrical 12 09-28-2012 12:22 PM
Outdoor Wiring Question OKDrew63 Electrical 30 08-15-2012 12:25 AM
Adding 2 outlets in the middle of a series of outlets - wiring question Evan55 Electrical 7 06-14-2012 10:43 AM
Attic wiring question everyman Electrical 4 07-07-2009 10:47 AM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 10:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts