Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-19-2013, 07:24 PM   #31
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Share |
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


There is no reason to go after york.... the product works as designed. The problem (as much as you might not like it) is probably due to installation.......just saying....

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 08:55 PM   #32
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


Just tried this test....

So again, at 9pm, the furnace ran nice and slow then ramped up to full and blew cold air. I did not even go look and verify the 3-red flashes. I simply went to the tstat and turned the setpoint to below ambient and it shutdown. Then I set it back up to the previous setpoint and it worked perfect. now the question.

Is there a programmable tstat out there that allows the setting of both high and low temps? So for example, I can have it set for 67 during the day, but if it drops below 64, it will shutdown. Just a guess. I am also looking into a tstat that I can access via the internet since I tend to travel a lot for work. It would be nice to be able to see what is going on at home when I am on the road....
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 08:56 PM   #33
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


I tend to agree on the installation issues, but......

Why does it continue to run on full fan with no flame........It just boggles the mind!
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 09:01 PM   #34
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


Give it up! It is what it is... nothing is going to change how it is designed to operate.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 10:02 PM   #35
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,933
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


I suspect for some reason York thinks that any error code like that is like an open limit switch and may be wired in the same way. when a limit switch opens the board is programmed to run the fan to "cool down" a possibly overheated heat exchanger. they may be trying to protect the heat exchanger and overcautious. I am not going to debate whether that is a good idea or not. I also suspect you may have a faulty board. Don't know if that full blast fan scenario is unique to yours or they all do that as I don't do a lot of York.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 12-19-2013 at 10:04 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 04:17 AM   #36
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


Quote:
Originally Posted by javan View Post
Just tried this test....

So again, at 9pm, the furnace ran nice and slow then ramped up to full and blew cold air. I did not even go look and verify the 3-red flashes. I simply went to the tstat and turned the setpoint to below ambient and it shutdown. Then I set it back up to the previous setpoint and it worked perfect. now the question.

Is there a programmable tstat out there that allows the setting of both high and low temps? So for example, I can have it set for 67 during the day, but if it drops below 64, it will shutdown.

No, as that would defeat the 4 hour anti freeze timer many furnaces have.

Just a guess. I am also looking into a tstat that I can access via the internet since I tend to travel a lot for work. It would be nice to be able to see what is going on at home when I am on the road....
Look into Ecobee.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 07:40 AM   #37
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


last night at 1:30 am. Furnace comes on for 1 minute with inducer fan running, dist fan ramps to 100%, then shuts off, immediate restart attempt. It did this 4 times in a row before I stepped in and reset it. Then it ran fine until I left this am.
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 07:56 AM   #38
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


Replace the control board
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:13 PM   #39
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


Talked it over with the Tech and he agrees that it is most likely the CB. He does want me to change the jumper settings for the ATR though and see how it behaves. He said that he has never heard of the scenario that I have been encountering (Furnace comes on for 1 minute with inducer fan running, dist fan ramps to 100%, then shuts off, immediate restart attempt)
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 04:25 PM   #40
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


I personally saw that exact problem on your model furnace on Monday. I replaced the control board and there have been no problems since.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 04:33 PM   #41
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,933
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


Does the board have a 10 yr warranty? If so it may have to be replaced by a York dealer to get the warranty as he has to fill out the fault symptoms on the warranty card and they may or may not approve it if it is not consistent or documented/described properly.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 04:37 PM   #42
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


I doubt warranty is valid to due to homeowner installation.........
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 04:46 PM   #43
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,933
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


If his father in law is a contractor and the tech is willing to try they may get away with it. probably the tech will put "subject to approval from York" on his invoice and charge him for it and re-imburse him later if it goes thru. bit different than Joe DIYer trying it on his own.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 04:49 PM   #44
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
bit different than Joe DIYer trying it on his own.
I will agree to disagree with this statement. While a contractor he may be.... that does not show his competence in HVAC.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS

Last edited by hvactech126; 12-20-2013 at 04:55 PM.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 05:10 PM   #45
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,933
Default

2008 York Modulation Furnace PM9C Issues


I know, just trying to help him, it is a DIY site after all. Good Karma also as someone will help me later. The manufacturers don't always give you a credit just because you handed a part in and rightfully so, it should be tested. I hate parts changers and especially parts changing techs when I have to clean up their crap.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (12-20-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seeking help with Furnace Issues atdwest HVAC 7 11-27-2013 05:03 PM
York furnace problem brucem609 HVAC 7 11-03-2013 06:35 PM
Brand New Concord Furnace Doesn't Work In Cold Weather LeighC HVAC 21 01-07-2013 08:48 PM
York vs Rheem furnace venting raylo32 HVAC 6 08-30-2011 04:28 PM
York Furnace Leaking.. Please help sidoe HVAC 4 10-08-2007 04:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.