Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2009, 06:34 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 441
Share |
Default

2 zone heating


hi everyone,

i turned on our heat yesterday and discovered that the back zone isn't causing the gas boiler to fire up. the system fired up when i turned on the front zone, causing the radiators in the back zone to get hot as long as the back thermostat was on. i noticed on the control box in the basement the zone valve light is not lit for the back zone. the boiler is 7 yrs. old. thanks for taking a look!
-------------------------------------------------------------
just to update this: i am not getting any heat in the back zone now. the front (main) zone is working fine though.


Last edited by joetab24; 11-07-2009 at 10:00 AM.
joetab24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 01:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 585
Default

2 zone heating


Post more information. What stat is controlling the rear zone. What valve do you have. What zone control make and model do you have?
More information would remove much of the guess work in assisting you.


Do you have a multimeter?
Do you have a digital camera? Pictures can be posted here using www.photobucket.com.

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 01:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 441
Default

2 zone heating


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
Post more information. What stat is controlling the rear zone. What valve do you have. What zone control make and model do you have?
More information would remove much of the guess work in assisting you.


Do you have a multimeter?
Do you have a digital camera? Pictures can be posted here using www.photobucket.com.
I'll take some pics because I really am a novice with the gas boiler. I am trying to better inform myself so I don't get ripped off.





the first three lights are on, the fourth is not.


Last edited by joetab24; 11-07-2009 at 02:01 PM.
joetab24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 01:55 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 441
Default

2 zone heating



hopefully this helps...what else do you need to know?

Last edited by joetab24; 11-07-2009 at 01:59 PM.
joetab24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 03:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 585
Default

2 zone heating


Does the zone 2 LED light up when you jumper the 2 terminals going to zone 2 thermostat?

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 03:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 585
Default

2 zone heating


It appears that you have 2 wire actuators on your Taco valves (I see orange and yellow).

The lower section of your diagram shows a jumper in use with 2 wire actuators. Is the jumper between terminals 3 and 4 to your zone 2 valve loose.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 03:47 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 441
Default

2 zone heating


"Does the zone 2 LED light up when you jumper the 2 terminals going to zone 2 thermostat?"


I am sure I am trying your patience

I am honestly not sure what you mean by "jumper the 2 terminals"?
joetab24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 03:55 PM   #8
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 585
Default

2 zone heating


I meant create a short across these 2 terminals with the use of a small insulated piece of wire.

The diagram zone 1 valve terminal block displays a jumper (wire) between terminals 3 and 4. If both of your valve are 2 wire, they would both have this jumper wire between terminals 3 and 4.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 03:58 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 441
Default

2 zone heating


"It appears that you have 2 wire actuators on your Taco valves (I see orange and yellow).

The lower section of your diagram shows a jumper in use with 2 wire actuators. Is the jumper between terminals 3 and 4 to your zone 2 valve loose."



not sure what a jumper or wire actuators are. I do see the pic you are referring to. I have 2 taco valves, each with wires. the wires appear to be connected well. you may have read this earlier. when the back zone thermostat calls for heat, the light for thermostat goes on but the zone valve light never goes on and the boiler never lights.

you've already done enough if you don't have the time (or patience) to respond to my rookie questions...thanks for the help you provided!
joetab24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 04:06 PM   #10
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 585
Default

2 zone heating


An actuator is the small motor on top of your valve that drives it open when 24 volts is supplied to it. I'd at least check that 3-4 jumper for zone 2 before giving up.

I'll gladly off further assistance in a few hours. I promised the wife dinner and a movie.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 04:19 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 441
Default

2 zone heating


no prob...we did dinner and a movie last night, a real treat when you have two little ones. enjoy!


for later,

referring to the last pic i posted, which taco valve is for zone 2?

Last edited by joetab24; 11-08-2009 at 07:40 AM.
joetab24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 05:08 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

2 zone heating


Follow your piping, The one that is cold is zone 2.

Bad power head.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 07:40 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 441
Default

2 zone heating


ACTION/RESULT
i disconnected the thermostat in zone 2 and checked the wiring----> the green thermostat light on the control box for zone 2 is lit. It was lit prior to testing, but I just wanted to be sure there was a good connection. Does this rule out the thermostat? And what would be the next logical step?
joetab24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 11:56 AM   #14
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 585
Default

2 zone heating


I would measure for 24VAC to your zone 2 valve when demand is present.
A meter would actually making testing much easier. If no meter is available...

I suspect that that your valve never gets a signal since your LED isn't lighting up. Again, I would verify that the small wire between terminals 3 and 4 going to your zone 2 valve is making a good connection at each end.

Bypass your zone 2 stat at your zone control. Remove the 2 wires going to your zone 2 stat and connect Terminal T to the other terminal T for zone 2. This would be a "jumper" . This would eliminate the stat and the wiring to the stat as the problem. If the problem persists...

Does the zone 2 LED light up when you remove the wires from terminals 1 and 2 to your zone 2 valve (with a zone 2 heating demand present). If it still won't light up...

If you only have a faulty interated relay on your zone control, I suspect that you could move zone 2 stat and valve wires to your zone 3 stat and valve terminals. Remove power first.

Both of your zones would be wired as shown in the zone 1 example when you have a 2 wire valve at both zones.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 12:05 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

2 zone heating


Those are 3 wire zone valves he has.

The zone valve light won't light unless the zone valve sends 24 volts back to the panel.
And when the valve doesn't open, it doesn't send 24 volts back to teh panel.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydronic Heating Zone Valve Placement johpar HVAC 1 06-02-2009 07:28 PM
need some help sorting out my new heating zone please wombosi Plumbing 3 04-23-2009 04:54 PM
Basement Heating Advice/Adding a Zone jaytech33 HVAC 7 04-09-2009 04:23 PM
Removing an existing heating zone chuckjon130 HVAC 1 11-09-2007 04:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.