Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2008, 02:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Unhappy

2 Stage AC with older Furnace?


I have a 5 year old Keeprite Furnace (91% eff rating) and have a purchased a new AC unit. The Problem I have is the AC unit is 2 stage but the furnace is not. What are my options? Should I replace my furnace with a two stage unit or could the old one be upgraded in some way to get these two to work together?
SteveTheBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 05:40 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 152
Default

2 Stage AC with older Furnace?


2 stage air handlers that are matched to 2 stage airconditioning are variable speed fans not 2 stage fans this means they ramp up to full spead but operate at full speed regardless of the stage of the condenser . the only exception that I know of on a split system is the 23 seer Maytag IQ drive these system require matching fans and controls. 2 stage furnace's again operate with one fan speed in heat and another in ac but hace 2 sets of burners 1 stage 3 burners fire 2 stage all five or 6 fire. that being said I beleive its everybodys responsibility to get the most eff system they can aford. but you will be fine with your furnace and enjoy your new ac.
ps there is a company call intellidyne the make controlls that can be retrofit to just about any system ac-gas-oil-geothermal. that will reduce energy costs by 10-20%
geo fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 09:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sringfield, Oh
Posts: 111
Default

2 Stage AC with older Furnace?


SteveTheBuilder,

It sounds like your salesman hosed you, unless you really wanted 2 stage AC. You are losing your effiency if you don't match the AC with the same brand variable speed furnace. Variable speed meaning DC controlled motor not multi-speed blower meaning 3 or 4 speeds. That being said as geo man stated it will work.
sgthvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 06:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 152
Default

2 Stage AC with older Furnace?


again i apologize but you are wrong the variable speed motors are set to static pressure peramiters not a set rpm they are much more eff then a standard motor but do not affect the heat tranfer rate of your ac they are asc. with the seer rating usualy acounting for .5 -1 seer variable speed can be set to many different fan speeds but once they ramp up (under a min.) they operate at 1 speed for cool one for heat and usualy a very low fan speed for fan or circ.
and if the person would read my previous post you clearly dont have the best system in the world (geo thermal) but it will work just fine . you did not get hosed as long as they replaced the evap coil the ac system will operate exactly as designed
geo fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 12:20 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Default

2 Stage AC with older Furnace?


I have a 2 stage condenser (5 Ton Goodman), 1 stage furnace (Goodman) and 2 stage thermostat (Honeywell VP). Since the furnace does not have a Y2 terminal, I have connected the Y2 from the condenser directly to the Y2 terminal on the thermostat. I have been able to get the condenser to work in only one of the two stages (thermostat is configured correctly). I am attaching an AS-IS wiring diagram. Could you please provide help on how to wire this so that both stages will work? Thank you!
dondelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 08:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 152
Default

2 Stage AC with older Furnace?


buy an adjustable time delay relay ($3) take your y1 terminal from your furnace y1 to y1 and y1 to the relay and from the relay to y2 get an adjustable relay and set it as high as you can 10 min
geo fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Add-on Wood furnace billmac HVAC 3 06-18-2008 09:17 PM
Trane xl-90 2 stage furnace problems ikon07 HVAC 5 03-14-2008 08:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.