Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2009, 09:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


I am fixing to buy the house I've been renting. It has an addition which is hooked up to a furnace and water heater in the basement. For the older part of the house it is in the laundry room on the main level. The vents for addition are on the floor. Vents for other half are on the ceiling. Is there any way I could hook everything up to just the ones in the basement?

hquinn3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 12:54 PM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


You gonna have to clarify what you mean. Don't know if you mean ducts or chimney flues for the furnace and water heater.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 09:59 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


I have 2 furnaces. 1 is on main level w/ the vents coming out of the ceiling. the 2nd is in the basement and the vents in that part of the house is on the floor. I only want 1 furnace. I also have 2 water heaters. only want 1 of each. should i just get a quote from a specialist?
hquinn3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 10:11 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,369
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


You might want to get a quote.

If you do switch to just one furnace, and one water heater.
You will probably not like, either the price to do it, or the way it works afterwards. Or both.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 10:31 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


How big is the house?
Is it a one family or tow family?
How big are the water heaters? Gas, electric or?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 12:41 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


the furnaces are both gas w/ electric start. water heaters are gas also i think. and it's a single family home. 1600 sq. ft.
hquinn3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 01:35 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,369
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


Unless one of them is oversized.
You'll have to buy a new furnace.
When you already have 2 working ones.

Do you want to do this to save on the heating bill?

It probably won't save you anything.
And may cost you more to heat the house.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 03:39 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


Our old WH was a 30g - enough for 2 people

You need to do a heat loss calc to determine the size furnace needed to heat your house. Without that everyone is just guessing if one will meet the needs of the house

Our house is from the 50's, boiler is 22 years old & oversized - 1640 sq ft house. My heat loss I needed ~70k btu = so with a 86% efficient oil boiler I needed about 81k btu
My boiler is actually much large then that

Check them & see what they are rated for

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 02-14-2009 at 06:07 PM. Reason: sp
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 05:57 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 187
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


Mmm.. I think he has forced air.

Gary
Gary_602z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 08:43 PM   #10
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,670
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


Quote:
should i just get a quote from a specialist?
Yes,...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 01:37 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


get a quote than when said quote is the price of a nice 5 or 6 year old used car, move on to the next project. ( In other words, its probably not going to be worth it)
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 02:08 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


Yes, of course running 2 furnaces & 2 WH will be less expensive long term
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 04:35 PM   #13
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,670
Default

2 furnaces and water heaters


Well,...
It would be Cheaper to run it as it is, until any of the units Quit,...

Then it's gonna be a 'ell of a plumbing tab to change anything,...
The DHW is 1 thing,...
But 2 hot air furnaces probably won't support the loss of each other...
Hot air is alot tougher to move along ways,....Ducting takes Alota space,.. etc...

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to diagnose gas valve problems Nestor_Kelebay How To Guides 28 10-30-2013 04:19 PM
Resource for understanding gas valve? darsunt HVAC 19 02-03-2009 11:08 PM
Heat Pump vs Aux Electric Heat batolson HVAC 16 01-17-2009 10:28 AM
Water leaking from Heil gas condensing furnace BlueStar HVAC 5 11-23-2008 05:47 AM
Water in Furnace Ducting sdoca HVAC 3 09-14-2007 06:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.