Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2012, 10:22 PM   #16
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,611
Share |
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


This is what yours will resemble once installed although you can not see the bulb strapped and wrapped in this pic. Notice the flange/screw together fitting on this one at the evaporator, what BT was referring to, I believe. They have different ways to attach.


__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:25 PM   #17
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,611
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


This is a little better.


__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:29 PM   #18
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,611
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Also, make certain that there is not a piston in that nut connection. If there is, remove it but keeping in mind the O ring remains. You don't want both a piston and a txv.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:44 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Thanks for the pics Doc. They are very helpful.

I will install the txv outside the AH.
I will see if I can get some insulation tape and a copper strap when I buy the TVX tomorrow.

I will secure and insulate the txv bulb to the suction line so it senses only the line temp and not the ambient temp.

When I I remove the nut, should I just see a hole in the tube? I'm not sure what the piston is supposed to look like but I don't think anything is behind the nut.

Thx.

Slash
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 11:05 PM   #20
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,611
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater




It should not have the brass orifice piston in the line with a txv. If it is there simply remove it. It just sits in there, should slide right out.

These days manufacturers are putting them behind the nut, pretty much so that if we as a contractor go and and pick up a 4 ton evaporator coil and the piston is in it then it's ready to go. Now if we pick up a 3.5 ton condenser that has a piston taped to it's service panel along with the 3.5/4 ton evaporator that has the 4 ton piston in it, we'll remove the 4 ton piston from behind that nut and put the piston which came with the condenser in it's place, thus making the same coil 3.5, all by way of piston. Txv will match the compressor regardless, line temp, as yours will.

Anyway, that's what you'll be looking for behind the nut.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 11:14 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Great pictures of the piston and explanation. I will remove the nut tomorrow and let you know what I find.

Thanks again.

Slash
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 11:34 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 118
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
You don't want both a piston and a txv.
How would a system with both piston and TXV behave?
tima2381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:49 AM   #23
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,611
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Quote:
Originally Posted by tima2381 View Post
How would a system with both piston and TXV behave?
Like there was a restriction in the refrigerant lines. Low suction, high head. No coOl.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:56 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 118
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Like there was a restriction in the refrigerant lines. Low suction, high head. No coOl.
Is there any way it would work right? I'm asking because this was tossed around as a possible cause by a tech who wanted to replace my TXV after I just had my evaporator coil replaced by another tech. After a couple weeks, the system was cooling at a subpar level, and he found lowish pressures and low superheat and subcooling, like 2 F each. After he proposed replacing the TXV, I asked if he could test it, and he dunked the bulb in a glass of hot water, which did nothing. He left the bulb hanging, so after he left, I tried it with ice water, and the suction line temp rose 10 F, and it dropped back when placed in hot water. I eventually strapped it back on the suction line, and the system has been cooling fine ever since, about three weeks now. I put a set of gauges on and got 6 F subcooling and 11 superheat under the same conditions as before, which is nominal per Goodman's specs. The second tech didn't add any refrigerant. I'm definitely going to wait for it to malfunction again before having the TXV replaced, but it's been nagging at me.
tima2381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 11:45 AM   #25
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,611
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Seeing as how it's not a complete blockage, having both the piston and the txv installed, theoretically I could see it somewhat working but the charge would be off. I could see a tech overcompensating the charge to try and offset the restriction which could very well lead to no superheat. Then once the txv began working and closing off the refrigerant per line temp the superheat would rise as the subcool would possibly lower.

It could very well just be the txv not working to begin with.

I'd have to agree, leave it alone.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:06 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Here are some photos of the txv I purchased yesterday.
I received 2 white teflon gaskets in the kit.
There seems to already be a blue gasket on the txv.
Should I replace the blue gasket with the white gasket?

Thx.

Slash
Attached Thumbnails
2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater-imag0251-small.jpg   2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater-imag0253-small.jpg  
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:12 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Am I missing a part to mount the bulb to my suction line?

I only received this part in the kit.

Do I just squeeze this clamp around the bulb and the suction line and wrap it with insulation tape?

Thx

Slash
Attached Thumbnails
2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater-imag0256-small.jpg  
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:47 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


In the txv installation instructions, it states that the txv is of the non-bleed type, therefore the outdoor unit must be able to overcome the unequalized pressure at start up.

Is there anything special that needs to be done, after pulling a 500 micron vacuum and adding to refrigerant to the system, to overcome the unequalized pressure at start up?

Thanks.

Slash
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 09:59 AM   #29
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,611
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


1.) Gaskets are the exact same so it's up to you.

2.) That is a clip which will hold the bulb to the line, it's correct. Just insulate the bulb very well and tape it sealed.

3.) The compressor will work on start up, don't sweat it. What you might want to add to the condenser is a 5-2-1 Compressor Saver/ Hard Start Kit. This amplifies compressor's starting power as well as saves the windings of the compressor which can and will last longer.

All it is is a very, very big capacitor and a relay which removes the super capacitor from the circuit as soon as the compressor has started. It slams the compressor into motion and then removes itself, all within a fraction of a second.

http://five-two-one.com/
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 12:13 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Thanks Doc.

It just looked like the clip was missing a piece to snap it together after putting it around the bulb.

What kind of insulation do you recommend for the bulb? The black tube type that wraps around the suction line?

The one video shows a special insulation tape. Can I just wrap it with silver duct tape after I put the black tube insulation around it?

I can also wrap it with R8 fiberglass insulation.

I will buy a 5-2-1 compressor saver.

Thx.

Slash

slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nordyne A coil, Goodman condenser. Want to install TXV. rdhill HVAC 2 04-26-2011 09:12 PM
Loud vibration of indoor coil in heat mode john-hvac-new HVAC 3 11-03-2009 09:27 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Evaporator coil for Goodman A/C leschuler HVAC 2 09-25-2008 12:43 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.