Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2012, 11:01 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Share |
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


I have a bryant condenser and the label says that I need an air handler with a txv. I have 2.5 ton goodman ARUF303016CA air handler and the "F" in the model number means it has a flowrater metering device.

Is it possible to replace the flowrater with a TVX?
Please look at the attached photo. I'm not sure where the flowrater device is located.

Thanks for any help.

Slash
Attached Thumbnails
2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater-imag0246-small-.jpg  

slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 12:04 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


You remove the lock nut, place the piston/flowrater into that line where you just removed the nut from, attach the short piece of 3/8th's copper which should have been supplied with the coil with the use of that nut (short piece of copper inserted through the nut ) you just removed and tighten it all down.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 12:07 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Don't forget to install the rubber O ring as well. Might already be one inside when you remove the nut.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 12:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


I haven't removed the nut yet. I was going to do that when I'm ready to braze the lines.

The AH is new and it didn't come with a flowrater. I do have the little copper tube(it was attached to front panel of the AH). The condenser is 2 years old and it's a 2.5 ton Bryant.

The label on the Bryant condenser says to use a TXV. Is it possible to get a TXV for a 2.5 ton AH and install it on this evaporator?

Thx

Slash.
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 12:53 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


The piston would come with the condenser if condenser were new. Air handler's (evaporators actually) can be used for multiple size condensers, why the piston comes with the condenser, to match the compressor's tonnage.

Yes, you can buy a txv and use it. Make sure the refrigerant type is correct as well as the size.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 12:57 PM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Tip: remove the nut, thread the small piece of copper through the nut, braze the fitting to the line AWAY (not connected to) evaporator and then tighten the nut/line back to the evaporator with the piston now installed. This way you won't burn the O ring/seal.

If you'll be using a txv then same difference except there will not be a piston installed.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 01:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Thanks Doc. Both condenser and AH are 2.5 ton and use R-22 so I'm good there.
I won't braze the TXV while it's connected to the evaporator.

Will any 2.5 ton txv work? Are there any makes to buy or avoid?

I'm going to pick one up tomorrow.

Thx

Slash
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 02:02 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


They're all the same. Just make sure the txv is r-22 specific.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:02 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


There's a rectangular plate next to the nut that I removed from the access panel.

I guess the txv will be outside the insulated air handler. Please let me know if this is how everything gets brazed.

1 - I have the 3/8 liquid line from the condenser brazed to the txv (txv covered in a wet rag so nothing gets damaged)

2 - I put the nut over the copper tube and braze it to the other side of the txv.

3 - I screw the nut to the evaporator.

4 - I heat up the cap on the suction line and pull it off.

5 - I create an inverted loop and braze it to the suction line.

Am I missing anything?

Slash
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:59 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,839
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
They're all the same. Just make sure the txv is r-22 specific.
Not exactly. The fitting ends are different.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (06-18-2012)
Old 06-18-2012, 06:10 PM   #11
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Bt's right, again.

Watch a few videos, slash. Here's one.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:30 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


Thanks guys. My liquid line is 3/8th. How are the ends different?

Will they fit a 3/8 the line?

I guess I will keep the txv inside the AH panel and just have the liquid line going through the panel.

There's a rectangular plate that screws into the panel but I might be able to push that in so the txv is inside the AH.

Thx

Slash

Last edited by slash5bmw; 06-18-2012 at 08:37 PM.
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:45 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,839
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


The end that goes to the coil can be different.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:59 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


BT, I assume that end is the piece that will be brazed to the little copper pipe with the nut. Is the size different.

Do I need to bring the little copper fitting in when I buy the txv to make sure it fits the txv?

Thanks for your help.

Slash
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:19 PM   #15
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

2.5 ton goodman coil flowrater


I'd leave the txv external and wrap it, the bulb that attaches via a strap to the suction line, well in insulatube using DUCT TAPE to seal it tightly. Don't be shy with the insulation around the txv bulb either. It needs to ONLY sense the line temperature, no surrounding ambient temps whatsoever.


__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nordyne A coil, Goodman condenser. Want to install TXV. rdhill HVAC 2 04-26-2011 09:12 PM
Loud vibration of indoor coil in heat mode john-hvac-new HVAC 3 11-03-2009 09:27 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Evaporator coil for Goodman A/C leschuler HVAC 2 09-25-2008 12:43 PM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.