Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 04:46 PM   #31
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,473
Share |
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Your new pic's show the transformer neutral as white...My bad.

Do the main burner flames continuously envelope the flame sensor rod for those 5 - 6 seconds of start up?
Do the flames from the burner enveloping the flame rod, look the same as the flames on the other burners?

how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 05:13 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Yep, everything looks exactly like it should when the Burners fire up. Why does the Burner stay on so much longer when I detach the Sensor Rod wire? What is that telling me? I mean it looks like all is working normal with the Sensor wire off, then like I said 5,6,7 seconds later flame out. And it behaves the exact same way everytime I try it. Wire on or wire off. I don't get it.
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:14 PM   #33
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,560
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


hook the blue and yellow back up as in drawing. then run a wire from it to the furnace cabinet or burner chassi.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:29 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
hook the blue and yellow back up as in drawing. then run a wire from it to the furnace cabinet or burner chassi.
OK today, I took a hard look at the green ground wire from the Control Board connector to the Furnace chassis, like "how" suggested.( it's attached with a Sheet metal screw thru the green wire eyelet connector then thru the bracket that hols the blower and then into the Furnace sheet metal chassis. I took it all apart and sandpapered/scraped it down to bare metal. Fired up the Furnace and SAME old CRAP!

Now: "beenthere" you say run a wire from it? Where are you talking a connection on the transformer? The 120V common side or the 24V common side? The wiring in my drawing is exactly as I have it wired up right now.
I did try reversing the blue/yellow on the 24V side like you suggested, but it didn't change anything. NADA.........
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:34 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Any other ideas??
Could my Control Board be bad?
What about the fact that the Burners stay on for approx. 5-6 seconds before flame out without the Sensor wire attached?
And with the Rod wire attached, flame-out happens in about 1 second?
Thoughts anyone????????????
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:39 PM   #36
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,457
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


I'm going to go ahead and state the obvious, change the control board. I'll bet you $100.00 (which is more than the cost of that board) that it's faulty.

Ask me how I know.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:44 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by how View Post
Your new pic's show the transformer neutral as white...My bad.

Do the main burner flames continuously envelope the flame sensor rod for those 5 - 6 seconds of start up?
Do the flames from the burner enveloping the flame rod, look the same as the flames on the other burners?

Yes and yes again. I mean all looks exactly as it should! I know because I was involved when we replaced the Ignitor last Fall. So I'm familiar with how she fires and runs. I will say this though, some of the time the first Burner lights and then their is a maybe a 1/4 second, a quick delay before the other 3 Burners light up together. But it's run like that for the 3 years I've owned the place. And yes the flame is a nice Full Blue flame. Thye Sensor Rod is in Full flame like it is supposed to be. Locatiuon and mounting of new Sensor exactly as old one I took out. I've even tried to interchange them. I mean I just don't get it.
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:46 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
I'm going to go ahead and state the obvious, change the control board. I'll bet you $100.00 (which is more than the cost of that board) that it's faulty.

Ask me how I know.
You know Doc, that is what I am thinking. I me4an what the Heck else can it be?
HOW DO YOU KNOW?
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:51 PM   #39
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,457
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Because all the other techs have gone through everything else!

You wouldn't put your computer in a sauna for three years, would you? Well that control board has been in one for three years and it's what a motherboard is to your pc.

Water and electronic components still do not mix.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:52 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Let me throw anything out there:

This new Transformer is NOT the exact replacement. Everything is pretty much identical except this new one has a 40V rating whereas the old Bessler Transformer was 30V.But this wouldn't make a difference would it?
This Transformer does make a real low hum noise, nothing serious..

The outdoor AC unit goes thru the Control Board and that works perfectly fine!
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:55 PM   #41
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,457
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


volt amperes. It's a 120 volt transformer, 40 volt AMPERES transformer. I'd start over with the correct 30 va one.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 07:08 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Because all the other techs have gone through everything else!

You wouldn't put your computer in a sauna for three years, would you? Well that control board has been in one for three years and it's what a motherboard is to your pc.

Water and electronic components still do not mix.
But why was it NEVER a problem until I changed out the Transformer??
The rust you see is old, old leakage from the Old lady that didn't keep an eye on the Humidifier. (You know what I mean) I readjusted the float, fixed and adjusted a few things and the Humidifier no longer leaks at all since I did that repair 3 years ago. It's working perfect.
The Furnace was working just fine even before I re-did the Humidifier. So I DO NOT believe water is the problem at all. Plus the fact that NO Water got into the Board, it is just the Chassis that is a little rusty. But NOT real bad. If it were this would have been a problem long ago, like after I moved in.
So I'm still waiting for other suggestions? Everyone thin ks it is definitely ground related? If I don't get anymore ideas, I will replace the Board. I saw a used one on Ebay for like $70.00 awhile back.
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 07:11 PM   #43
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,473
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


We've been basically getting you to test out other simple possibilities instead of just changing your 50A50-112, but as "Doc" suggests, it's probably time to take the plunge.

A pro at this time would be
confirming the DC milli amp of your flame sensor when the gas is burning.
checking if the 50A50 is even powering the flame sensor.
and making sure the gas valve is not still getting 24V after the furnace gas shuts off.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 07:13 PM   #44
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,457
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Northwoodslakes View Post
But why was it NEVER a problem until I changed out the Transformer??
The rust you see is old, old leakage from the Old lady that didn't keep an eye on the Humidifier. (You know what I mean) I readjusted the float, fixed and adjusted a few things and the Humidifier no longer leaks at all since I did that repair 3 years ago. It's working perfect.
The Furnace was working just fine even before I re-did the Humidifier. So I DO NOT believe water is the problem at all. Plus the fact that NO Water got into the Board, it is just the Chassis that is a little rusty. But NOT real bad. If it were this would have been a problem long ago, like after I moved in.
So I'm still waiting for other suggestions? Everyone thin ks it is definitely ground related? If I don't get anymore ideas, I will replace the Board. I saw a used one on Ebay for like $70.00 awhile back.
I only kind of glanced through this thread thus far, only now seeing that the problem was only after you changed the transformer. What was the problem before, why did you change the transformer?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 07:16 PM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
volt amperes. It's a 120 volt transformer, 40 volt AMPERES transformer. I'd start over with the correct 30 va one.
I asked the tech that I bought the new transformer from and he assured me that this one would work fine for me. My original Bessler Transformer is not made anymore, so I matched this new one the best I could.
I could not find a Transformer with the 50/60 HZ rating to match the old one, This one matches in every way except like I said old 30VA this new one 40VA. I would think this one with the higher capacity would be fine. No?

Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame Setdyi HVAC 38 02-08-2014 12:20 PM
Random Flame rollout on Gas Furnace Albe HVAC 21 03-03-2012 12:35 PM
New flame sensor not working tryintofixit HVAC 4 10-23-2011 03:03 AM
Ruud furnace issue on upgrade board and flame sensor rubberman HVAC 22 01-15-2010 11:34 PM
comfortmaker flame sensor big ron Appliances 1 11-02-2007 09:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.