1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2012, 08:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Hi Folks, I see there are allot of knowledgeable Experts so here's my question:

I've already done the removal/cleaning of the Flame Sensor rod, no improvement. Last year I needed a new Ignitor, all is good there.

1.) With the electrical wire attached to the Flame Sensor the 4 Burners will fire maybe 1-2 seconds tops, then turn off and the Control Board flashes 6 times.
2.) With this wire disconnected, I then get the 4 Burners to stay on much longer, maybe 6-7 seconds and then turn off, No Flashing light at the Control Board.
It will repeat exactly like this everytime I try to fire it up.
Does anyone know where I can find a new replacement Sensor for this Furnace? I've read they can fail. Are these universal? I have absolutely NO manuals, parts lists, info, etc.

How about some expert advice guys? Thank you!

Advertisement

Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:16 PM   #2
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Blog Entries: 1
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Flame sensors are pretty much universal, there are a handful of them that are used, any supplier should have the exact one or one that can be used in its place and most come with universal brackets

Advertisement

Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Acomfort View Post
Flame sensors are pretty much universal, there are a handful of them that are used, any supplier should have the exact one or one that can be used in its place and most come with universal brackets

Do you think a new Flame Sensor will solve my problem?
I looked on Ebay and found a new one for only $8.00! that looked almost exactly like mine, (just the porcelain sleeve was not as long.)
Not sure about the metal rod length though. I'd love to just buy that and be done with it, but not sure if this would be compatible? I live rurally and would have to drive a bit to a supply house.
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:44 PM   #4
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Blog Entries: 1
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


If your burners are coming on and off after 2 secs then I would be changing the sensor
Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Clean the front.of the burners first. The flame sensor is just a steel rod for the voltage from the control board to jump through the flame and get back to ground via the burner faces. Voltage present-clean flame sensor-clean burner face and good ground are all needed for the flame to stay on.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
Evstarr (08-10-2012)
Old 08-10-2012, 04:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


I removed and checked the Burner, was Clean and fine, maybe a very little light rusty corrosion, no scaling, but other wise fine. I only took this particular Burner off and checked it overall for any obstructions, etc. and I only wiped the Burner face off with my Hand. Are you saying then I need to Wirebrush the little bit of "rusty film" off the actual face of this Burner in front of the Rod, and get it back to bare metal the best I can?

Thanks, Marty S!
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 06:30 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Yes. Even thin surface rust acts as an insulator.Remember we're only dealing with a 1-2 microamp currant so it doesn't take much to mess it up.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 03:06 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


OK Marty, I will take it apart and try wirebrushing the face of the 4th Burner this weekend and re-post. Tell me this, I found a Flame Sensor on Ebay for only $7.50. It physically looks exactly the same, except the Seller tells me it is 1/2" short in length than mine. (Everything else about it looks identical, small mounting foot and all.) He asked for a specific Model No. and my Furnace has no Nameplate data that I can find. Where is this suppose to be? I've looked all over! So I'm kinda off stuck, but if I need to buy this from him, it would work for me? they all are pretty much universal, like Acomfort suggests, Yes? (Just trying to learn from you guys.) Hopefully the wirebrushing will get me back to normal operation. Thanks again Friend!
I will post my results soon, believe it or not, it's actually getting a bit chilly up here now....
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 03:29 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,646
Rewards Points: 2,606
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Northwoodslakes View Post
OK Marty, I will take it apart and try wirebrushing the face of the 4th Burner this weekend and re-post. Tell me this, I found a Flame Sensor on Ebay for only $7.50. It physically looks exactly the same, except the Seller tells me it is 1/2" short in length than mine. (Everything else about it looks identical, small mounting foot and all.) He asked for a specific Model No. and my Furnace has no Nameplate data that I can find. Where is this suppose to be? I've looked all over! So I'm kinda off stuck, but if I need to buy this from him, it would work for me? they all are pretty much universal, like Acomfort suggests, Yes? (Just trying to learn from you guys.) Hopefully the wirebrushing will get me back to normal operation. Thanks again Friend!
I will post my results soon, believe it or not, it's actually getting a bit chilly up here now....
1/2" which way...on white wire side or metal rod side. remember it must enter the flame of the burnner...can you get a picture of your furnace with door on....and one with door off...
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 03:55 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Yes, I hope he gets me more detailed info. My Sensor is 2 7/8" lg. below the foot (Burner end) with 2" of it being the metal rod. Yeah, I hope his short end is the wire end. I figure that if the business end is within 1/4" I will be good. When I removed it, I saw it had been cleaned before and about 3/8" of the end was a bit carboned up. The rest was shiny and clean. I wish this guy on Ebay would answer my specific length question, but now it's the weekend; so I guess I'll have to wait on him.
In my "google searching", I saw a website that quoted $139.00 for this sensor, can you even believe it?? They claim it is an exact factory replacement. I'm thinking this Furnace is so old I most likely cannot even get a factory match? There is only the lift off front panel door, a decal saying Comfortmaker RPG II. No other specific data, e.g. Model #, Serial #........ It is 80K BTU, I do know that on a decal glued to the inside sheet metal chassis.
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 05:14 PM   #11
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Blog Entries: 1
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


If you can find a flame sensor that is the right length regardless of the white part length it will work. As long as you can mount it and have that sensor in the flame your good to go.
__________________
Affordable Comfort, assisting with furnaces Barrie and surrounding area, as well as offering 24 hour furnace repair
Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Acomfort For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (08-11-2012)
Old 08-18-2012, 04:40 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


OK, guys thanks for the help. I finally got time and found a Sensor that is a very close match; the same dimensions within 1/8" of my old one. I got to say, the industry sure makes it confusing with all these different part numbers for basically the same damn thing! So now I'm good, the part will be here and I will install it next weekend and fire the Furnace back-up. I will also clean the Burner as you guys suggested. I saw where some Utube guy recommended you only need to "rinse the Burners in cold water to clean it?" I will wire brush, then rinse, fire it up and it will then get dry in a hurry. I am just surprised that this Utube guy said "you only need just to rinse them under water"?
Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 10:57 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South texas
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


My.sesor acts up every season. I pull the little metal rod out and use a little sand paper to clean it. Works every time
Convict3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 11:19 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


Sand paper is one of the worse things to use on a flame sensor. is scars them which causes them to get dirty faster.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 02:34 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

1993 Comfortmaker RPG II Flame Sensor Not Working?


I believe that. I've only owned this House for 3 years; first time I have ever had a Sensor problem, but when I took this one out it looked "sanded clean" in the flame path from a previous person. But the bottom 3/8" lg. was dirty and carboned up. So yeah, I agree this one must be dead, plus it is most likely the original 1993 sensor.

Advertisement

Northwoodslakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud furnace issue on upgrade board and flame sensor rubberman HVAC 23 11-05-2014 01:36 PM
York Diamond 80 Intermitten Flame Setdyi HVAC 38 02-08-2014 01:20 PM
Random Flame rollout on Gas Furnace Albe HVAC 21 03-03-2012 01:35 PM
New flame sensor not working tryintofixit HVAC 4 10-23-2011 04:03 AM
comfortmaker flame sensor big ron Appliances 1 11-02-2007 10:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts