Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2009, 10:25 PM   #16
JMK
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?!


Yeah, I'm a gal. I do think the companies here are busy this time of year, but when I get conflicting info it makes a little hard to know how who to trust. I really don't think the cost of living here is too high. It's been overbuilt, so the contractors should not have many new installations like they've had in the past. Economy is bad here too.

As for the heat, yeah, I was up there too. It's hot, but why they don't do things in the evening at this time of year is beyond me. That's when they do road construction. Plus I could handle it, so some younger guy shuld be able to - one adjusts when you live out here. Not an excuse to charge more.

I don't even mind paying a fair price IF it really does need all those repairs and the price is fair. I just don't even know if all that stuff needs to be replaced and is the price fair. I understand about having to recapture the R22 freon and put that all in and that's not considered a "part".

I did read the gauges the 2nd guy hooked up Blue (Low) side read 100, the label on the unit said 150. The Red (High) gauge read 200, the label said 300. The tech said it should be 275? I don't know if they can fool around with the gauges. He did release a little gas after hooking up the gauges?

Also the cost of attaching the insulation seemed unbelieveable! - $180. I would think that would be include in the $60 service call. Anyone heard of a "kit" to do this? All you do is remove the 10 or so bolts from the top of the heat pump and there it is.

Also this is a heat pump on the roof, not a A/C on the ground.

I'm mainly furious at the owner of the 2nd company calling me up yelling when initially called them because I couldn't understand the tech. I was very nice talking to the tech and the office girl, I just wanted clarification. And that his ad totally misrepresented what did (I'm still debating disputing the charge or contacting he BBB, and registrar of contractors. See: http://www.aircareaz.com . Plus, I didn't even see a ladder on the tech's truck, he used mine. I completely didn't mind paying the $60 towards replacing the insulation, but not to pay a service call, again, because the tech didn't have the stuff with him and then he kept changing the price and never said I was getting a credit for the service call when I asked (language barrier?). When my thermostat wire came loose in Dec., the $72 service call completely covered the repair and the guy was here for a good two hours and even then called his boss to try and lower it, because they installed the unit.

Whole thing is weird. Thanks I'm taking into each and every post, but does anyone think my A/C could sudden just stop working or will it slowly start to blow less cold air. If I can buy time, that would be great.

JMK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 10:44 PM   #17
JMK
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Default

$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?!


Quote:
Originally Posted by SKIP4661 View Post
I would say that your original problem was the insulation that had come loose. Your system is probably grossly overcharged due to the airflow restriction. I would recommend calling a major brand {lennox, trane, carrier} dealer to check your system. You will have a better chance of getting honest service work.
Would the gauge readings be high in this case, because they were low?.

Low side gauge read 100 (label said: 150), High side read 200 (label said 300).
JMK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 05:26 AM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,813
Default

$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?!


The labels pressure listings are test pressures, not operating pressures.



If they did the work in the evenings. They would charge you more, because they would be paying the techs overtime.


No way to predict if it will stop working soon again or not, over the internet.

Just like the road work cost more to do in the evenings.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 09:58 AM   #19
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,275
Default

$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?!


I would not worry about it. One freezeup doesn't usually ruin a unit. If it is cooling 15 deg in your climate that is good. You probably have more of a chance of the unit being damaged by a power surge etc than what just happened. Cannot prevent power surges etc. Make sure you take a garden hose and sprayer and wash out the outdoor coil a couple times a summer. If it gets dirty the unit overheats.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 01:54 PM   #20
JMK
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Default

$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?!


The unit apparently never froze - like freezing to the insulation (though it was a little wet when it came off), from what I was told. I actually think the insulation may have been loose for a while, because it is blowing much better than I recall ever!

Sounds like I probably shouldn't worry too much about until something goes wrong again. Probably don't even need to worry about replacing the insulation (that one one tech said?). Though I may go up on a cooler evening and take the cover off and look at it. It would be easier to when my broken shoulder heals.

Still no response on using 2 part epoxy to reglue the insulation, if I can make holes in it, though where the two nails were must have been holes. I can also through some silicon sealant on them.

Thanks again everyone! I feel much better, though still a bit worried, but at least not panicky.
JMK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:51 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Default

$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?!


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
I guess you know the cost of living where this company is from.

OP:
Doubtfull the compressor is bad. Wait till you can get the guy/company out that installed it.
A contractor for goodman installed my heatpump. guy came out he said iit was out or freon .he checked for a leak at the air handlier . he tightened the nut on outside,and said he didnt find any more.he wanted a lot to put in.i asked if he stood behind his work,he said no..so i found someone for 1/2 the price.it i ran it for about 2 hrs.when it got hot,it would not go below 78. next day quit .I caled contractor he said he would come and see if the system would hold pressure ,he said he put 100lbs.in each the handlier and heatpump.he came back next day said it held ,but was gonna leav3e it another day to make sure.the next came he said the day before it had 75 lbs. now has 50.so he walks to the outsise pump ,he couldnt get his leak detector to work so he says i bet that is it,pointing at the crated cond.coil.it had on the inside a line 3" from the botton a straight line the whole distance of bend fins.but well get you one he boss called back its covered but it will cost you 500 to install..I said no. some of the people that install these cant be licenced or certified,they can t trouble shoot.do minstallers put the heat pumps toghter at job or they put toghter at the factory? if its messed isnt the contractor held responsiable?
billmill5050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:57 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Question

$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?!


[quote=billmill5050;640003]A contractor for goodman installed my heatpump. guy came out he said iit was out or freon .he checked for a leak at the air handlier . he tightened the nut on outside,and said he didnt find any more.he wanted a lot to put in.i asked if he stood behind his work,he said no..so i found someone for 1/2 the price.it i ran it for about 2 hrs.when it got hot,it would not go below 78. next day quit .I caled contractor he said he would come and see if the system would hold pressure ,he said he put 100lbs.in each the handlier and heatpump.he came back next day said it held ,but was gonna leav3e it another day to make sure.the next came he said the day before it had 75 lbs. now has 50.so he walks to the outsise pump ,he couldnt get his leak detector to work so he says i bet that is it,pointing at the crated cond.coil.it had on the inside a line 3" from the botton a straight line the whole distance of bend fins.but well get you one he boss called back its covered but it will cost you 500 to install..I said no. some of the people that install these cant be licenced or certified,they can t trouble shoot.do minstallers put the heat pumps toghter at job or they put toghter at the factory? if its messed isnt the contractor held responsiable?

Last edited by billmill5050; 05-01-2011 at 01:01 AM. Reason: trying 2 delite have 2 copies
billmill5050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 04:11 AM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,813
Default

$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?!


[quote=billmill5050;640007]
Quote:
Originally Posted by billmill5050 View Post
shoot.do minstallers put the heat pumps toghter at job or they put toghter at the factory? if its messed isnt the contractor held responsiable?
No, they are assembled at the factory. Contractor isn't responsible for factory damage, or neglect.


PS: The contractor, was not a contractor "for" Goodman. He may have been a contractor that is a "dealer" of Goodman equipment.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 10:45 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default

$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
No I don't know the cost of living there Been.. Why don't you tell me.

Then again, even a Piece Of Sh!t Goodman comes with at least a 5yr compressor warr. That's my point.

He said that he had some sort of warr program that cover $800. If you or any one here can't replace a compressor for less than $800 (labor) then first, the customer is getting a big ol' screwing, Second, who ever is doing the job needs to go back to school.

I also doubt the compressor is bad.

HEY buddy,, I sell goodman going on 8 yrs now. only have had ONE go bad on me. and that was a blower fan piece came loose and locked the motor... maybe its the installer.. if your having problems with goodman... and GOODMAN has 10yrs on parts .and 10yrs on compressor NOW... Im sorry but if you open every unit goodman, trane, carrier. etc.. they all order their parts from same company in TAWAIN.or CHINA...

sivad37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 05:13 AM
Sub is swapping Amana for Goodman Dragon HVAC 22 02-04-2007 07:54 AM
Repair hole from AC unit MSC Building & Construction 5 04-15-2005 10:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.