$14 Grand??? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-07-2008, 09:15 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

$14 grand???

Hello everyone,

My first post on here and I hope someone can shed some light on a subject I have very little knowledge.

I have a 11 yr old two story, 2300sq.ft. home in North Carolina with a split unit. We've had problems with the coils leaking and have had to replace coolant each spring for the last 3 years; Last week the capacitor went out on the one unit. So far this year we've spent $520 in service call, parts, and recharging to keep cool. The system is 11 years old, so I thought I'd get a quote on replacing all the components. I was shocked that the first (and so far only quote), came in at $14K..

The quote included 2 ton Heat pump & Gas pack, 13 -15 Seer for downstairs and a 2 ton unit upstairs (R410A) 10 yr P&L warranty.

Questions: First, is 11 years a average lifespan?; Secondly, is the $14K way out of line?: Third, Can is there a fix without replacing all the units with all new?

ANy help is appreciated.

Advertisement

Lefthanded Screwdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 10:44 PM   #2
oops, did I do that!

Rewards Points: 250

$14 grand???

What am I missing here. Do you already have two separate systems, and they are going to replace both? Or are they adding a second system to an already existing system?

Advertisement

8 Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 02:06 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 25

$14 grand???

It is easy to spend a lot of money on an air conditioner, but you probably don't have to spend 14K. I would be curios to hear the answer to 8 Ball's question.

Last edited by AtlanticWBConst.; 08-19-2008 at 07:53 AM. Reason: Site Rules Violation: Advertising Link Removed From Signature
Charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 02:43 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 150